9 Crypto YouTubers Share the Most Awkward Reaction to Blockchain Technology

Mihai Herman
HERMAN MEDIA
Published in
3 min readAug 30, 2018

This article in special in so many ways.

First, it’s my very first roundup in the crypto space.

And secondly, it’s the first article published in Herman.Media publication (my new PR agency for blockchain startups).

A while ago, I asked a couple YouTubers about what was their most awkward reaction to blockchain technology from a friend or family member. Their replies are funny, inspiring and unexpected. Enjoy.

In no particular order…

#1. Tom Heavey @ Crypto Gurus

“My step-dad who prematurely believed he knew about Cryptocurrencies asserting to me that: “The miners are where the Bitcoin information is stored, right?”

#2. Kenn Bosak @ Kenn Bosak

“Isn’t it illegal and used for buying drugs only?!”

#3. Jason Randle @ Cryptosomniac

“I’ve had such a range of reactions from ‘can you manage my money for me” to “you’re going to wind up broke and go to jail” that it’s hard to decide on which is the most awkward. Honestly, some of the most awkward conversations I’ve had from it derive from trying to explain to someone who doesn’t know what bitcoin is what it is that I do for a living, which can be a circuitous path to lead someone down in order to translate the concepts effectively.”

#4. Jason @ Crypto Crow

Probably the most inspiring answer we’ve got.

“My wife couldn’t understand my obsession with the space early on and thought I was wasting time, until I paid off all our debt with my first cash out.”

#5. Ben Perrin @ BTC Sessions

“After the collapse of Mt Gox, my friend promptly texted me to say “I hope you didn’t buy any of that trash!!! (Bitcoin)”. Fast forward to December 2017 as he starts buying near all time highs.”

Read more: The Definitive Guide to ICO/STO Marketing and Blockchain PR

#6. Quinten Francois @ Young and Investing

“When you tell people you’re invested in crypto, when they start talking about the January crash. There is stops for me and don’t go into the discussion. Because going from $900 per BTC a year ago to still $8,000 per BTC is not bad at all. People who focus only on the bad sides (there are few though) are for me the worst to talk about crypto with.”

#7. Dawid @ Crypto Coins

“Most of the people don’t even understand what blockchain is and think that all cryptocurrencies are huge ponzi schemes.”

#8. Crypto Rich

And we have an exception that only proves the rule.

“I don’t think I have had any awkward responses from family and friends about blockchain. They have always known me to go off and be a little different. Plus in this regard my insensitivity has been a blessing, as I have been largely indifferent to other’s reactions.”

#9. Zack @ Crypto Coin News

“Anytime you tell someone you’re involved with cryptocurrency, they reply ‘Oh like the Bitcoin?’”

That’s all folks! Hope you enjoyed this article and that you were able to find more compassion for your family and friends and their awkward reactions to blockchain technology.

Make sure you subscribe to these YouTubers as they’re putting a lot of work into providing value to the crypto space.

You only need to clap for this article if you’ve seen at least one dog in your life. (:laughing like Scooby Doo: — here’s 30min of that)

About Herman.Media

Herman.Media is a results-oriented blockchain PR agency. With us, you never pay for pitches, you only pay for the results we generate. Our clients were featured in Yahoo, Entrepreneur, Reuters, MarketWatch, CoinTelegraph and more.

Our signature monthly PR service guarantees three (3) features/brand mentions per month on websites with at least 100,000 visitors/month (usually 1M+). To top it off, all our services come with a money back guarantee of up to 90%.

Oh, did we mention that your every $5,000 spent on our services feeds one dog for a YEAR?! We’re hip like that (woof).

Check out our website. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram.

Do you want to work with us? Send us an email and we’ll schedule a call to discuss about your project.

--

--

Mihai Herman
HERMAN MEDIA

Founder @ Herman Media - results oriented PR agency for #blockchain startups. Ex-PR Director @ Restart Energy. #Blockchain investor. #Entrepreneur. Husband.