Behind the Wheel: Meet “Father of Wheelchair Motocross,” Aaron Fotheringham!

How One Athlete is Redefining Extreme Sports

Firehouse Subs
Firehouse Subs HeroFuel
5 min readApr 1, 2016

--

By Mae Velasco, HeroFuel® Reporter

Twenty-four-year-old Aaron Fotheringham handi-planting in Scotland. Photo by: Paul Chappelis
Twenty-four-year-old Aaron Fotheringham handi-planting in Scotland. Photo by: Paul Chappelis

“I don’t suffer from Spina Bifida, it suffers from me,” 24-year-old Aaron “Wheelz” Fotheringham writes across his social media bios.

And it’s quite apparent he’s not suffering: this fearless and driven athlete may not ride on a skateboard, but he’s reinventing the wheel(chair) when it comes to extreme sports. Through a lot of dreaming, and even more determination, he now travels the world and performs gravity-defying stunts adapted from skateboarding and BMX — all while sitting down.

Spina bifida, which translates to “split spine” in Latin and happens when the spinal cord fails to develop properly, may have left him without the ability to walk, but Fotheringham has never stopped moving. As a kid, he rolled, he crawled, he flew down the hall on crutches (he even created a superhero named “Crutch Boy,” whose crutches were rockets), and he did the same when he began using a wheelchair at 8 years old.

“I have always seen spina bifida as a great opportunity than being bummed out by it,” he told HeroFuel®. “Crutch Boy was…whatever he wanted to be, and that’s how I still view things. My wheelchair just makes things more fun!”

He’s got a mind that’s always running — whether with clever puns (“Wheel you be mine? #Imawheelyniceguy…#IllneverSTANDyouup,” he wrote on Valentine’s Day) or with new, big ideas. Get to know this Las Vegas native who’s hailed as the “Father of Wheelchair Motocross” in our edited Q&A below! (And watch this video directed by Allan Hardy!)

MEET AARON FOTHERINGHAM:

HeroFuel®: What was it like for you growing up?

Aaron Fotheringham: I was adopted by my parents when I was a baby. In total, they have adopted six kids! My childhood was filled with surgery after surgery — 21 altogether. All throughout my childhood, my siblings and parents treated me no different because of my wheelchair or spina bifida.

I think that was very important to me. My family has been very supportive in helping me reach all of my goals. …I’m very blessed to have been raised in a loving home with an older brother who got me into action sports.

HF: We hear when you were 8 years old, your brother gave you the idea to drop into a quarter pipe. What made you do it?

AF: I loved watching the X Games with my older brother, Brian, and I enjoyed watching him ride BMX [bicycle motocross] at the parks. I always dreamed of being a pro action sports athlete as a kid. One day in December of 2000, I was at the skatepark with him and he offered to help me get onto one of the ramps. …I couldn’t say no. I wanted to impress my big brother, haha! After a few crashes, I rolled away from one drop in. Instantly, I fell in love with skateparks.

HF: What were your major highlights since being that 8-year-old who dropped in a quarter pipe for the first time to who you are now?

AF: I started riding at 8. Kept progressing until I landed a 180 and some grinds. Then in 2006, I landed the first backflip. 2007, I got my first sponsor and started traveling more. 2009, I got an email from Nitro Circus that changed my life. 2010, I landed the first double backflip and in 2011 landed the front flip.

HF: Where did you get the idea to do a backflip? And what steps did you take to accomplish it?

AF: I was 13 when I was really starting to get serious about pursuing a backflip. There is a camp called Woodward West. They have foam pits and all of the necessary equipment to make it happen. After landing the first backflip, it really opened my eyes. Nothing is impossible as long as you work hard for what you want.

HF: What is your typical daily routine like? And how do you train for your stunts?

AF: A usual day for me starts with waking up early. I love mornings! Have a smoothie, then hit then hit the gym, then off to the skatepark. I try to stay as active as I can, so I can stay in top condition for all my jumps — and crashes.

HF: Do you have special, customized wheelchairs? What equipment do you suit up with to do all these superhero stunts?

AF: I ride a Box Wheelchairs WCMX [Wheelchair Motocross] chair. Built to hold up to all of the abuse but remains lightweight so I can still maneuver it.

HF: How did you get your nickname “Wheelz”?

AF: Middle school. It started off as “Wheelies,” because I only ever had two wheels on the ground. Then it just faded into Wheelz!

HF: And speaking of nicknames, how do you feel being known as the “Father of Wheelchair Motocross”?

AF: Humbled. I’ve been very blessed to do what I do. But it’s not all my doing. I couldn’t succeed without the help and support of friends, sponsors, family and fans.

HF: What accomplishments are you most proud of? And what are your goals for the future?

AF: I am most proud of how far WCMX has come! It’s growing more and more, [with] people having fun with their chairs. I want to progress in WCMX. I plan on riding more mega ramp this year.

HF: Aside from your achievements, what are other fun facts about you?

AF: I really enjoy editing videos and welding, or metal fabrication. My favorite thing is driving around in my truck. There is absolutely nothing better! I adopted the raddest pup [Copper] from the shelter in Vegas, and he has been the best companion — he even loves chasing me around the skatepark when I’m riding!

HF: Any words you’d like to say to the kids who look up to you?

AF: If I could say anything, I’d say to never give up on your dreams. Sometimes we go through hard times, and it’s easy to feel like we should give up. Stay focused on the outcome you want and just stay positive.

HF: And any last comments or thank-yous you’d like to share?

AF: Thank you to Firehouse Subs for having me on HeroFuel! I’m honored!

(No way, thank you, Aaron. We’re honored!)

Want to learn more about this amazing athlete? Check out Aaron Fotheringham’s website!

--

--