Welcome to Heroic Hydroponics

Niole Nelson
Heroic Hydro
Published in
2 min readDec 13, 2021

Welcome!

During the covid-19 pandemic in 2020, I realized how much I take healthy food for granted. Seeing empty shelves at my local supermarket during the Great Toilet Paper Shortage really got me thinking: I am not as self sufficient as I would like to be.

I depend completely on the food supply chain in order to survive. When something goes wrong, I have no backup plan. My food is at the mercy of forces much larger than me.

“What if I started my own garden?”, I thought. That’s not possible for me. I live in an apartment building. I have no yard. Then I started looking into hydroponics. I had heard about it before, but didn’t quite know what it was. Now I have my own indoor garden, where I grow whatever I want.

Why “heroic” hydroponics? By reducing dependence on grocery stores, I believe that home hydroponic gardens will make healthy food accessible no matter what’s happening in the world. They could even be key in addressing climate change. The more that people grow vegetables at home, the lower the demand will be for food to be driven across the world.

You can get started with hydroponics even if you have a small space and even if you have a small budget. So, get ready to grow something!

Thanks for reading.

--

--