Check Out Your Sequel

Brooke Jones-Chinetti
Herstory by Your Sequel
2 min readNov 30, 2016

The first step for women transitioning from the military.
By Brooke Jones-Chinetti

At eighteen, I knew attending the oldest (and largest) fraternity in the country would make me a unique person in that community. So, during my decade of military service, I grew quite comfortable being the only woman in the room. Sadly, I accepted being on the fringe of the “Good Ole Boys Club” even though I kicked ass at my job and surrounded myself with those who supported me. I built a network (*surprise, surprise* mostly men) and sought mentors I wanted to emulate. However, I never felt completely integrated with my male teammates, but I compartmentalized my feelings and figured this was military-specific.

I would find my group of flawless, fearless, empowered women when I transitioned from the Army.

WELL LET ME LET YOU IN ON A SECRET. That was TOUGH. I felt like I was grasping at straws trying to find female mentors as I was transitioning (couple that with the fact that I had ZERO idea what I wanted to do when I grew up), and only had a handful of female friends who had made the transition. After transitioning from the Army, I realized (1) I missed the community of selfless, intelligent, and strong service members I used to be a part of, (2) I had no idea who to reach out to in order to find strong female mentors, and (3) why isn’t there a “Badass Women Club?”

As I’ve said before, female veterans represent a rich and untapped talent pool to corporate America. There are female industry leaders who want to give advice, and guidance, and tools to this pool. Yet, there is a disconnect. I’ve been there, and I want to change that. So I’m creating Your Sequel to bridge that gap and create a mentorship and networking platform for female veterans.

You’re not in this alone.

Our goal with Your Sequel is two-fold. First, we want to pair you up with female superstars in whatever industry you are interested in. We want to provide you access to ambitious women committed to empowering and encouraging you on your journey. Second, we’re looking to build a community of women who have transitioned from the military. A forum to connect with other female service members, ask questions of others who have made the transition, and encourage one another on our paths.

To the fierce females who have extensive experience in your respective industry — If you’ve been looking for a way to give back to those in service, this is it. We’d love to have you onboard. Apply here!

To my fellow veterans anticipating or currently going through transition to the corporate world, join us here!

--

--

Brooke Jones-Chinetti
Herstory by Your Sequel

Former Army Girl, West Point Grad & Columbia Business School Student. Founder of Your Sequel. Brunch Enthusiast. Champagne Aficionada. Out of Shape Runner.