Concrete Jungle

Shaili Parikh
Herth
Published in
2 min readJul 5, 2019

Corporate settings sound like a drag. Wouldn’t I rather be traveling and exploring the world, letting my spirit free and such? Not really. There’s a lot to complain about and a lot to change in my world, but there is something to said about hustling at your own pace.

Fancy schmancy interiors to make you temporarily forget climate change

Much scoffing has been directed at the tyranny of corporate oligarchies- what with their environmental bullying, sweatshop passions, and general all-consuming greediness. The collective conscious has come to regard this whole big-brand hogwash as uncool. However, I find it difficult to deny its perks and rage against the system, as it were.

Where to partake in one of my 6-a-day coffee breaks

First of all- my job. While it is the dictionary definition of boring (seven hours a day, five days a week, you can find me in a barely comfy spinny chair clacking away at a desktop), the place looks super cool. There’s post-modern-before-modern-was-a-thing furniture all over the place. Way too many light fixtures at weird angles dot the ceilings, but it’s great for a sneaky Instagram.

Violent chipmunks alert!

Getting there is a bit of a hassle, though. I have to take the 5-minute interval bus that stops around 5 minutes from my place. Somehow, I always manage to reach the stop just as the bus is taking off. From the bus, I have to take the metro for about half an hour and walk for another 10 minutes to the building. The walk is the toughest part. There are some aggressive squirrels who are willing to fight you for the last bits of your hand-held breakfast.

It’s a respectable trade, though. The squirrel’s and mine. The contemporary world has a lot of battles to fight- don’t burn yourself out by picking all of them at once.

--

--