Hertory Africa
HERTORY
Published in
5 min readJun 22, 2020

--

#4 SPOTLIGHT FEATURE

Being Creative, Winning, and the African Woman Magic.

Born and raised in Idimu, Lagos, Olukanni Olutola is a graduate of Obafemi Awolowo University where she studied Soil Science. Undeterred by environment and challenges, she went on to explore and create.

We discuss how she becomes a soil scientist who makes amazing products at Seams and Stitches, her struggles through it and her wins.

Tell us something random about you.

I love to do anything that confirms that I am a creative. I draw, I bake, I sew, I write and when I’m bored, I knit.

Quick one: What can’t you be caught outside without?

I would say my wristwatch.

What was growing up like for you?

I was born and nurtured in Lagos, Idimu to be precise. I grew up in an ‘ajepako’ kind of setting but my mum did a great job to make it look like my siblings and I were Lekki-bred. I went on vacations a lot to the beautiful sides of Lagos while growing up too. I still stay in Lagos, but a different part of Lagos.

We get that you love art, but how did that all start?

My mum is a professional fashion designer, so I stayed in her shop after school hours all -through Primary and Secondary School. I can’t even say I was taught to sew because it came naturally. I had dolls and teddy bears and I made dresses for them constantly. Gradually, I started making dresses for myself. Most of the dresses I wore in the university were made by me.

I actually did not learn how to make bags, I wanted a backpack in 2016, but I couldn’t get what I wanted and I decided to make one. It caught some attention almost everywhere I went, and that was it.

How did it become a business for you?

Seams and Stitches became a business the day a friend of mine Deborah Olugbade saw some bags I made for myself and ordered for some. She designed the logo for a token too. I was an undergraduate, then. The name came while I was making her bag back in late 2017. Deborah and her friend who later became my very good friend, Ore, as well as my other friends supported and referred me to other people. Since then, I have made different kind of bags and dresses, particularly for Deborah. We are still growing and putting plans in place as we are targeting the youths and the youth at heart to help step up their fashion style, look beautiful and confident and also make a lasting fashion statement, consistently.

What are some of the challenges you’ve faced since you started doing this?

I could not really pay attention to some aspect of the business as I was joggling academics, leadership and spirituals. I served in different capacities between 2016 and 2019 (General Secretary of my department, President of my department, election petition chairman of my faculty and editor-in-chief of two prominent news agencies on campus). I couldn’t bring in my sewing machine cos I stayed in the school hostel. So I dropped it in a friend’s house outside the campus. I go there to sew overnight because that is when they get electricity supply. That was relatively rough for me.

Away from Seams and Stitches, have you faced challenges with a direct link to your gender as a female?

Not really. I’ve always been found in the midst of guys. Even when I served as the president of my department (first female president in my department and I think in my faculty as a whole), I got support and encouragement from everyone. It even allowed people support other female leaders. We had a lady contest too in her department, within my faculty. People marvel at my strength and I just flow as I detest people looking down on the female gender. We carry MAGIC!

We all believe in the lessons derived from challenges. We’ll like to hear some of yours.

Our mindset and motive matters. Even when faced with challenges, your mindset and motive keep you going because you know why you are doing what you are doing. It is your duty to fight through and emerge a winner. The God factor is essential too. Involve him from the start and keep him in the journey!

Tenacity is one of the strengths we have seen in leaders over the years. What are some of your strengths?

Flexibility and adaptability. I just find it easy to adapt to any environment or anything. It has helped me severally.

We have seen the inspirational power of achievements and success stories. Do you mind sharing some to inspire other young African women?

Understand who you are, because self-awareness is important. High self-confidence is essential to keep your heads up. Don’t cower because of your gender. Maximize your potentials and prove your worth. In you lies a lot of potentials and treasures that you have to let out because you are not selfish. The world needs us! Women are and will remain an integral part of the world!

By just being who I am, doing the right things that ought to be done, I have been recognised. At The Bridge Program 2019, I got awarded as a servant leader, the same year I got nominated as one of the most influential ladies in my faculty. I didn’t win the award but I won the award for the Most Influential Female of graduating class of 2019 without even getting to vote. Voting closed before I could vote. During my internship year, I was awarded the Best Female Team Player in my group.

My contribution to the success of the first-ever celebration of World Soil Day in Obafemi Awolowo University earned me my HOD’s love, support and respect. She named me ‘The Indefatigable President’.

Do you have other interests?

Yes, Agriculture! Oh my! I love to nurture plants. I’ve got some interest in tech too. I like how it makes life easy and fun.

This article is part of the #Spotlight series by Hertory. Don’t you want to read more stories of African women doing hard things? Follow the publication to get to know when the stories go live!

--

--

Hertory Africa
HERTORY
Editor for

Projecting the story of the African woman, one at a time.