Hertory Africa
HERTORY
Published in
4 min readJun 8, 2020

--

#1 SPOTLIGHT FEATURE

Finding the link between Passion, Resilience and Art.

Born and raised in Kano State, Nigeria, Ahmed Deborah is an architect with a degree from Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma in the bag, and a make-up artist with class. She has worked on tons of building projects and also done face beats for years, but that comes with a story of her resilience.

In this conversation, amidst frequent laughs, we discuss her passion, struggles, and strengths.

Tell us something you love doing, but, a lot of people don’t know about you.

I love and enjoy doing many things. I’d say I love singing even if I’m not so much of a great singer. I also love dancing but that often happens in my head. I actually love all forms of creativity.

Why Architecture and Make-up, Why not something else?

When I was much younger, I realized I had passion for drawing and design, but I did not know I was going to study Architecture in the University. The journey to architecture started when I got into senior secondary school, I didn’t want to be in the science class but my dad insisted that I remained there because he wanted me to become a Medical Doctor. Going further, I started out by his wish. Upon graduating from secondary school, I wrote the post-utme (entrance exam) to get into the University of Maiduguri where I applied for Medicine and Surgery — as instructed by my Dad. However, I intentionally didn’t read for the exam, so I could fail and it seemed to pay off as I eventually failed.

Before I was done with secondary school, I figured I woould like to study Architecture as it was related to drawing and design. I took my second UTME, and I stubbornly applied for Architecture all for passion.

And about makeup artistry, I wanted a handwork that could fetch me good money when I’m out of school and waiting to get a job. Knowing I am an entrepreneur, and that the spirit that comes with it won’t let me be, I accepted the fact that I must not be busy doing nothing.

Do you mind telling us some of the challenges faced while trying to get all this done?

When I look back, I recognize all the challenges that made me. I remember deciding on makeup artistry in my final year.

Studying Architecture in itself is really hectic, and I had to have it combined with having to stay up at odd hours to get designs done, and determining to learn makeup also in my final year. It was tiring having to juggle between my project, designs, and makeup classes. But one thing kept me going, and that was and is passion! I discovered that no matter how stressful something seemed to be, once I have passion for it, I would scale through, because passion helps me stay consistent, and consistency is key. I’ve come to conclude that passion and consistency works hand in hand.

Those seems to be interesting challenges, are there lessons you have learnt that has helped you to this point of your life?

More than anything, I have learnt that you should be your own driving force. This is because there are a lot of persons out there that might directly or indirectly be a source of discouragement.

I have also learnt that one has to have mentor(s) to look up to that has achieved what you are trying to achieve and model the strategies they put in place, before they were able to achieve them.

That has taught and helped me a lot, I must say.

At this point, what do you term your greatest achievement?

Errrrm… If I’m being honest, it would be being a graduate of Architecture, first. It gave me one of my proudest moments ever, as I was part of the team that designed and constructed an energy efficiency workshop for an Organization called P.I.N.D foundation in Warri, Delta State. This makes me proud as the building is one of its kind in Nigeria, given that it is self-sufficient and has the ability to take care of itself. One of the key features of the design id the fact that regardless of how hot it is outside, it finds a way to adjust to accommodate you once you get in. Also, it was designed to use the methane gas trapped from the suck away as your cooking gas.

And secondly, being a makeup artist that people always want more of her service brings a sense of accomplishment.

What are your strengths?

I would say God, myself, and people who believe nothing is impossible especially the likes of Dangote.

Do you think what you did to get here could be regarded as disruptive?

Looking at it from the angle of rebelling against my dads wish, I won’t absolutely say Yes, because I respected his opinion initially, hence, he really didn’t fight me back but decided to see how far my decision would take me, and right now, he is glad he didn’t compel me more than he did.

This article is part of the #Spotlight series by Hertory. Don’t you want to read more stories of African women doing hard things? Follow the publication to get to know when the stories go live!

--

--

Hertory Africa
HERTORY
Editor for

Projecting the story of the African woman, one at a time.