Staying True to Yourself in a Relationship

SheSaid
HeSaidSheSaid
Published in
3 min readNov 8, 2016
http://bougieblackgirl.com

He said: Never sacrifice your beliefs for a relationship. Morals and beliefs are what describes the type of person you are. Sacrificing your beliefs means you sacrifice your TRUE self.

Many people hide very serious things about themselves in fear of judgement or being hurt emotionally. Moreover, they’ve been hurt before in relationships and things didn’t work out or that person got on your nerves so much.

In fact, you never want to feel that way again. So you may withhold things, which unknowingly blocks your own blessings.

When you’re only being a fraction of yourself in a relationship, you stop anyone, who’s interested in you, from getting closer to you. Maybe you are afraid or too ashamed to be yourself with that person.

We tend to point the finger elsewhere but most times the fault lies within ourselves. Pride can turn into fear and dominate the way you make emotional, social and even economical decisions in your relationships.

If we hide our true selves, then our partner doesn’t know much about us. We aren’t giving him/her 100% of us so they may not know why something is bothering us.

That being said don’t hide your faults just to be accepted. Be proud of yourself.

Take a look at yourself in the mirror and start improving yourself so you can become a better person. Every day is a chance for us to be better.

http://aderonkebamidele.com/4-ways-keeping-secrets-can-destroy-your-relationship/

She said: I think being true to yourself is harder when you are younger and easier when you are older. As a teenager or young adult (early 20’s), I can honestly say that I was not true to myself in my relationships.

During this period of my life, it had less to do with the guy that I was dating. I just did not know myself or what I wanted in a relationship.

Dating was just about being “liked” or finding someone who held my interest. I think both of us were withholding information because we were unsure of what this relationship would be.

Sometimes I did not share things because it was not the right time or I did not know him that long. In the beginning, it is more about getting to know him and seeing if this will be a long-term relationship (more than 6 months).

I don’t think I was “hiding” my true self but I was waiting for a sign or proof that it was safe to let him into my world. All relationships will not grow into “meaningful” ones. So I feel like it’s okay to hold back a piece of yourself until you are ready to let that person know you on a deeper level.

As I got older, I realize the importance of expressing my true thoughts and feelings in a relationship — the good and the bad. Open lines of communication have become more important than physical attraction or the number of years we were together.

If I develop a rapport with him, then it’s easier to say how I feel or what bothers me. Likewise, he should be able to say what’s on his mind without worrying about judgment or rejection from me.

A relationship works if he and I can clearly state what we want or don’t want. Both of us can’t be on different pages — like he wants to casually date but I want to get engaged.

In the end, I think you can be your authentic self if your partner has mutual respect for you, a mature mindset and strong communication skills. When you and your partner openly express your true feelings about different things, your relationship gets better and stronger.

Writers: He Said & SheSaid

--

--

SheSaid
HeSaidSheSaid

Writer, Counselor, Teacher & Overall Great Friend.