A Practical Guide to Getting Settled in San Francisco

The Flock
The Flock
Published in
6 min readJun 1, 2018

By: Madi McCallum

The author enjoying easy access to the beach.

I was not born to thrive in New York City. I first learned this when, at age 13 on my first trip to NYC, I was yelled by a total stranger. It was later confirmed when I became claustrophobic while merely standing outside during the UO NYC trip my senior year. While I sometimes envy the “Cool Girl in New York” aesthetic that’s all over my Instagram feed, I’ve always known that I require a different lifestyle to be truly happy. For me that lifestyle looks like: easy access to an ocean, cheap flights home to Oregon (hello, Allegiant Airlines!), and the kind of laid back, West coast attitude I’ve known my whole life.

That’s not to say you can’t live in NYC if you have anxiety or claustrophobia. I wholeheartedly believe it can be done (thank you, Chloe Rask) and from what I hear, NYC can be an incredible, fulfilling place to live/find yourself/flourish. I just know that level of big city life is not for me.

That is why I was thrilled to land an internship at R/GA San Francisco. Even though I didn’t know a soul in the Bay Area aside from a few of my soon-to-be-colleagues, San Francisco felt like a safe-ish step into city life. Reflecting back on four years and three agency jobs, I can safely say it has been more than I’d hoped for.

In the future, I hope to see more Ducks end up in the Bay Area. So to any Ducks considering San Francisco, I wanted to impart some words of wisdom I wish I’d had before I made the move from Eugene. Keep reading if you want some practical advice on how to get settled in San Francisco.

Housing

San Francisco has now surpassed NYC as the most expensive city in the country. This obviously makes finding an affordable place to live on an intern or junior-level salary pretty difficult. But it’s not impossible. Having flatmates helps, and if you’re fortunate enough to have friends you can move in with, DO IT.

To find a place, you’ll want to leverage Craigslist and Facebook. Some tips:

Craigslist:

  • Once you find a listing you like, respond right away. Make your email unique, but not ridiculous. Similar to how you would reach out to a recruiter — the goal is to stand out but not alienate yourself or the other person.
  • Make it easy for the person on the receiving end contact you and give links to your social profiles so they can do a little cyberstalking if they’d like.
  • Volume volume volume! Respond to lots of ads. A single ad can often receive 100+ responses. Don’t be discouraged if you don’t get an email back, and don’t be an asshole if you get ghosted. “Right place, right time,” is your new mantra.
  • If you have to move in with someone from Craigslist that you don’t know, make sure you have an opportunity to meet them and see the place in person before signing a lease. If you can, come to open houses with a blank check so you’re ready to secure the spot if multiple people are interested.

Facebook:

  • There are a few massive Facebook groups dedicated to housing postings — browse these constantly. You never know when the perfect spot may open up.
  • Leverage your friends, friends of friends, your parent’s friends, EVERYONE. I’ve found numerous apartments this way.

Real talk: In my experience, average rent in a shared house is between $1,000 and $1,700. I currently live in a four bedroom, one bath flat and my roommates and I pay between $900 and $1,550 each depending on the size of the room. Our house is in a fairly safe neighborhood, has in-unit laundry, and lovely high ceilings.

Keep in mind that each neighborhood in San Francisco has its own unique feel. Make a list of priority neighborhoods so you can filter your Craigslist search accordingly. If you’re looking for a good deal, start with the Richmond, Sunset, or even the East Bay, as housing here tends to be slightly more affordable.

Transportation

Unless you get lucky and find an apartment that comes with a parking space, you may want to reconsider having a car in the city. Purchasing a space in a car park or other form of private parking is really pricey (like, $300+ a month pricey). If your car is registered and insured in California, you can get a residential parking pass for about $150 a year. Residential parking passes do not guarantee you a parking spot, they just allow you to park on the street without being ticketed.

I had my car in the city for less than three months before I drove it back home to be sold in Oregon. It was incredibly hard to let go of my vehicular security blanket, but going car-free ultimately saved me a lot of money, time, and stress.

Instead, I learned to get around using the bus/lite rail system (Muni), Uber, and Lyft. For $75 a month I ride the bus as much as I want, including my commute to and from work. You can also choose to pay as you go, which would make more sense if you’re not using the bus to commute. I use Google maps and an app called Routsey to navigate the city on Muni.

To purchase a monthly Muni pass, go into any major BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit) station or local Walgreens and asked to purchase a Clipper card ($3), then ask them to add whichever Muni/BART plan fits your needs. More on fares here.

If the thought of letting your car go scares you, consider renting a car for occasional trips outside the city. Apps like Getaround make this easy, and a full-day rental can be as low as $50.

What to do with your weekends

When you first move to San Francisco, chances are you’re not going to have a lot of what my mom likes to call “fun money”. Here are some ways to enjoy your new city on a budget:

Free: Parks, parks, and more parks! Golden Gate Park is by far the largest with the most to see and do (seriously — they’ve got a freaking Buffalo paddock). If you need a good cry, Stow Lake is a beautiful place to call your mom and shed a homesick tear. If you’re feeling social, Dolores Park is a great place to drink beer outside and make new friends.

Cheap: Anything on SF Fun Cheap. I also recommend checking out Off The Grid and Yoga to the People.

Treat yourself: Visit a Korean Spa. For around $25 you can have all-day access to a hot tub, cold pool, sauna, steam room, and more. If you want to REALLY treat yourself and get a massage or another service, admission is covered in the cost of your service.

Events you won’t want to miss:

  • Bay to Breakers. An excuse to wear costumes and drink at 7am. And yeah, an organized run if you’re into that sort of thing.
  • Pride. You’re in San Francisco, honey. ‘Nough said.
  • Marches and protests. Usually take place on Market Street or around Civic Center.

Other things I wish I’d known

  1. The local University of Oregon bar is called “R Bar.”
  2. If you’ve never lived in a big city before, it can be draining. Consider budgeting for services that will make your life easier. For me, this looks like getting my groceries delivered through Instacart. Honorable mention goes to: drop off laundry services or extra money for Lyfts when the bus is just too much to handle.
  3. The homeless problem is real and it’s sad. If you ever see someone in distress but you’re not sure how you can help, call the Mobile Crisis Hotline: 415–970–4000.
  4. Never call it San Fran or Frisco. Tourists say “San Fran”, and only San Francisco “Lifers” or people over 50 have permission to say “Frisco.”
  5. Expect to pay at least $85 plus tip for a haircut from a standard salon.

Final thoughts

I look back on making the big leap from Eugene to San Francisco and remember how terrified I felt. In fact, I’m pretty sure I cried for most of the nine hour drive South. But as with most scary/new/unknown things in life, the freakout was temporary and well worth it.

If you’re considering making your own leap, remember to do it first and foremost for yourself. Know that you can make your own path if you’re willing to put yourself out there and work for it. As the illustrious Deb Morrison likes to say, “go team!”

Madi McCallum is a senior project manager in San Francisco. She grew up in Grants Pass, Oregon, where hanging out in a Wal-Mart parking lot is a perfectly acceptable activity. Follow her on Twitter.

--

--