Raising the bar. Making mortgages more stimulating.

Habito
Habito
Published in
4 min readNov 26, 2019
The Mortgage Kama Sutra by Noma Bar for Habito

Noma Bar, the Israel-born graphic designer, illustrator and artist, has designed over one hundred magazine covers, published over 550 drawings and released three books. His work has appeared in countless media outlets including Time Out London, BBC, Random House, The Observer, The Economist and Wallpaper.

Last week, he added Habito’s ‘Mortgage Kama Sutra’ to his esteemed biography!

Noma lent his talents to creating a light-hearted and adult-only take on the financial terms that often cause anxiety during the mortgage application process. The artwork featured as a double page print ad in last week’s Grazia, Time Out and Evening Standard ESMagazine and has already received rave reviews from the creative industry.

Despite the campaign’s tongue-in-cheek tone, our research found that people’s sex lives can suffer when they face mortgage application anxiety. One in ten couples surveyed, equating to nearly half a million Britons, admitted that getting a new mortgage stressed them out so much that they weren’t intimate with their partner during the entire process, while one in 20 confessed it caused them to sleep in separate rooms. We’re here to make mortgages easier — so people can get on with the fun stuff.

We caught up with the highly decorated artist on what it was like working with a mortgage company, where he finds his inspiration, his proudest achievements and what he does in London to unwind.

How did you feel about creating a series of Kama Sutra-esque Images for a mortgage company?! What was the appeal?

“Working on a project that pushes the boundaries for its category is always enjoyable. I think it’s fresh to see a mortgage company that connects mortgage jargon with sexuality, I don’t think I’ve seen anything like that before. Normally, my images tell a story without words, but in this project we used text along with the images, to give the overall look a comic strip feel.”

The play on words and illustrations are brilliant. Do you have a personal favourite?

My favourites are the ‘Downpayment Doggy’ and ‘Freehold Frog’. I love the little dog on the negative space of the bodies.

Honey, I’m Home!

What are your influences as an artist?

I draw inspiration from a very wide range of places; from geopolitics and observational comedy to relationships, family and everyday situations. From a design perspective, I’d say Swiss design, Bauhaus, Russian constructivism & silent films are styles that influence me and my creative work.

What does a typical day look like for you?

I go for a morning walk in Highgate Woods. I follow this with a brainstorm and some sketching outdoors. Then, it’s back to my studio which is just opposite the woods.

I’ll have a short lunch break. In the evening I sit down to eat with my family. Usually, I head back to my studio after dinner for more work. This is also a good time to make conference calls around the globe.

How do you unwind and de-stress?

London is one of the best cultural spots in the world and I’m trying to make the most of being here. There is always so much to do. Exhibitions, going to the theatre and gigs energise me as does spending time with my family.

Base, Base, Baby

What are your proudest career achievements to date?

My latest book, Bittersweet, published by Thames & Hudson. It’s a five-volume book featuring 15 years of drawings. Other works include an animation film for NewYork-Presbyterian to explain innovative immunotherapy cancer treatment that was broadcast to 50 million people during the Super Bowl. And Chineasy, an illustrated system that helps people learn Mandarin and used in many schools and universities around the world. I was also nominated for design of the year at the Design Museum. Last but by no means least, I have to mention my artwork for the cover of Margaret Atwood’s Man Booker Prize-winning book The Testaments. I’m beyond proud to have been involved in such an iconic piece of literary fiction.

--

--