Behind the curtain

hiseye
Hi’s Eye Blog
Published in
3 min readNov 17, 2016

by Kate Seaman

This year, I will say goodbye to one of the best programs of my high school career. As a senior, it’s a bittersweet moment to say goodbye to a group of people who have supported you throughout your high school life. The WHS theatre department has opened its fall play, Romeo and Juliet. This is the last fall play I will work on as a member of the set design crew.

Since freshman year, I have worked on the scenic design crew. Before I joined, I did not know that there were different sizes of wood, I didn’t even know how to hold a screwdriver properly. But over time, with the help of others in the department, I figured out the basics (how to use a drill, cut a piece of wood with a chop saw, build a platform that can hold a person, etc.) and eventually I became the head of the set construction crew.

This department has been like a second family to me. To be honest, I think I spent more time in the school building, painting the set for the shows than I spent at home doing homework. The late nights in the high school forced me to become better at managing my time and create a line of communication with my parents that was effective and open.

The theatre was, and will always be, my favorite place. I will admit that I have had moments when all I wanted to do was leave the stage out of frustration. I felt this way because we couldn’t work on stage while the actors were rehearsing or build a scenic property to the right size or shape. But I always went back to the stage because of the community of kindness, acceptance and passion.

Everyone in the theatre community at WHS is passionate about what they are working on and we all have a passion to get the show off the ground and see it succeed. Without that passion I, and probably many others, would have left freshman year because of too much work for too little reward. But that is not the case because there is tangible evidence that our work paid off and so many people in the community will see our hard work come to fruition.

No one in the department is forgotten. Every person who auditions for the play and musical has an equal chance to get into the show and if someone does not get into the show, they have the opportunity to work behind the scenes. This spirit of inclusion in the department has been a sign to me that the theatre department gives everyone an opportunity to take part in an amazing program.

My experience in the theatre department has taught me many lessons. On the set construction crew, I have learned real-life carpentry skills and I have learned to work with others effectively to complete a common goal. Additionally, within the department itself, I have gained the ability to feel comfortable with those around me. Without this department, I probably would be unable to find the confidence to raise my hand in class or write an article like this.

The WHS theatre department is a place where everyone can be themselves and anyone can be involved. It is more than just another department in the school. It is a family, a home and a lifestyle.

--

--