Recognizing the forgotten workers

hiseye
Hi’s Eye Blog
Published in
3 min readFeb 10, 2017

by Stella Billek

When I began working as a waitress at a pizzeria, I realized that there were a number of employees who work harder than anyone else, yet tend to get the least amount of respect or appreciation.

The people at my job who receive the most appreciation from customers are those who either work behind the counter, wait tables, or make the pizza that everyone loves. I know because I am one of them. The customers recognize us, and they treat us very well. Yet, in the back of the pizzeria, hidden out of sight, there are always several men and women working the hardest. Most were not born in this country, nor do they speak English. They take out the garbage, wash, clean, mop and perform tasks that quietly go unrecognized.

During my first few months at the job, I avoided the kitchen workers just as the other waitresses did. As time went on, I started to smile and say hello to everyone at work, not only my immediate co-workers. I watched how hard the kitchen help worked at the tasks that I was thankful I did not have to do. I began to reassess what I had thought I knew about certain people in the workplace. I started thinking about their lives. I started noticing similar people working outside of the pizzeria and acknowledged the countless number of people who share their position.

In every restaurant, store or business, there are people in the background who go unnoticed, despite how much they do. Although many people ignore them and act like they do not exist, it became important to me that I no longer fell into that category. Now having worked in an environment where I am dependent upon them, I recognize the people who work “behind the scenes” of my life.

Acknowledging the people who are often overseen in my community has allowed me to be grateful for what I have and appreciate the work that others do, and aspire to work harder myself. More and more, I see people who have a comfortable life and a good education take for granted those who may not be as fortunate, yet work very hard.

It is important to me that we notice people who do not fit into the same economic or social status as us. The first step toward understanding and appreciating people is noticing that they are there, they work hard, and they contribute. Until people of different social and economic classes are willing to acknowledge and understand others, rather than ignore them and make fallacious assumptions, we will be filled with the prejudices and negative attitudes that damage our society.

Had I not decided one day that I would acknowledge the diligence of the people I work with, I would have forever remained ignorant of how heavily their jobs impacted me. I realized that day that I had a choice. I could either stay at my job and ignore the people who help me, ducking my head when they walk by, or acknowledge their hard work and attention. I’m so happy with the choice I’ve made, and I will never regret taking the time to learn of all their names and their stories. I can only hope that more people will do the same.

--

--