Art Collecting Guide Cheat Sheet

Essential Checklist for Assessing an Old Master Painting

--

More and more people reach out to me asking for a piece of advice on the art they own, inherited, bought, or are willing to buy, online and offline.

While for some it is a rare occasion in their lives and they are simply curious whether the painting in their attic might suddenly buy them a new house, others are on the path of becoming aspiring and then seasoned art collectors on their own.

I’m happy to help in any of the cases, and that’s what my articles under the Art Collecting Guide are written for.

They are rather comprehensive and well-illustrated, so, how about a handy cheat sheet of the key decisive factors and details one could use for quick reference while looking at an old painting?

Use this questionnaire below to make your own assessment of the piece you own, want to learn more about, or check attribution and price estimates when you thinking of buying or investing in.

☞ If you’d like a ready-to-print version of it, just drop me a line here, and I’ll send it over to you over the email.

Copyright: marinaviatkina.com Art Collector’s Cheat Sheet 1/3
Copyright: marinaviatkina.com Art Collector’s Cheat Sheet 2/3
Copyright: marinaviatkina.com Art Collector’s Cheat Sheet 3/3

Obviously, this is just a quick checklist that would serve you well if you already have some basic knowledge of what to expect while looking at an old master painting.

I have shared my hands-on experience, knowledge, and tips and tricks in different articles in my Essential Guide to Art Collecting.

P.S. This checklist is a part of my knowledge-sharing materials and was initially planned for my handbook for beginners in art collecting. Let me know, if you’d be interested in having such a guide, perhaps, I will be able to come up with it one day.

My name is Marina Viatkina and I am an art history writer and collecting advisor. You may read my other art-related articles, watch videos or reach out to discuss this blog and address your art enquiries here or on my website marinaviatkina.com.

--

--

Marina Viatkina
Hidden Gem: Art Treasures through the lens of History

Art | History Writer & Collecting Advisor → marinaviatkina.com | Founder of Smart Art — Art History Escape app → getsmartart.com