How To Establish A New Routine In Early Sobriety

Heidi Pawlowski
HIGH HIGHWAY
Published in
6 min readMay 3, 2024

--

Photo by David Mao on Unsplash

RISE & SHINE PORCUPINE

After spending countless years stuck in my addiction, I can actively vouch for how frustrating it can be to pick yourself back up time and time again. I’m no stranger to the helpless feelings, and self-induced lack of motivation.

Your recovery is dependent on the work you put into it on a daily basis. And if we’re being completely honest here, who the hell really wants to sign themselves up for that?

Trust me when I say there is a LONG list of things I can tell you that didn’t work for me all of those years. My defiant behaviors, my inability to self-reflect and admit that change needed to happen, and my sense of fear and self-doubt all kept me stuck in a rut for a VERY long time.

Establishing a set routine, upholding a sense of accountability, and practicing the self-discipline to actually carry it out every single day was a STRUGGLE for me, especially when I first got sober.

photo by author

I know it can be challenging to have patience. With yourself and the entire recovery process. It’s hard to find drive especially on the harder days when you aren’t seeing instant

--

--

Heidi Pawlowski
HIGH HIGHWAY

✨ Reformed Addict | Girl Mom | Mentor | Bookworm ✨ Healing From The Chaos & Continuing To Write My Story 🤍