An Experience in the Woods

Aayush Patel
High School Voices
Published in
3 min readAug 5, 2020

As we stopped by the crickety wooden bridge, the stream below us gurgled as it rushed over the rocks down the mountain. The surrounding air was cool and shaded by the numerous trees an groves that surrounded the stream. Mottled light fell and gave a fairy-like feel over the entire bridge. As I went on, I found a secluded hidden place, near the bridge. In between two trees, a clear view of the clear water. I almost expected to see some type of fairy pop out from behind the undergrowth. At this point, we had been hiking for about 2 hours and were plenty tired. Climbing up mountains on an unpaved trail was not the easiest thing I could have done on a weekend, but it was definitely one of the highlights of my summer.

Shinrin-yoku is the Japanese art of forest bathing. This practice came into popularity a few years back as a way to connect with nature in our busy, city-style lives. Shinrin-yoku is a way for people to calm down and relax from the hustle and bustle of city life. I can say for a fact that this practice is much needed for people of all ages.

During the summer, I was taking two dual-enrollment classes and doing an internship. Needless to say, I was on the computer for the better part of the day. Think for 7 to 8 hours. At the end of the day, I was drained, physically, and mentally. My mind was constantly firing, reading, and quizzes and tests and meetings. My eyes would feel dry, my neck aching, and constant headaches that sometimes became knife-stabbing migraines.

So, just as any reasonable person would have been when offered a trip into the depths of the Appalachian mountains, I didn’t want to go. I thought about all the work I would have to catch up on, the extra work piled on, but of course, I said yes. It was a fantastic decision.

Evolutionary-wise, shinrin-yoku makes sense. Early humans were surrounded by green spaces and forests. Our eyes are able to see the green wavelength easily, and we are evolutionarily programmed to be comfortable around nature and the leafy environment. It was our home and where we traveled, hunted, lived, and died. The NIH states that forest bathing helps to enhance our immune systems, cardiovascular systems, and respiratory systems. It also helps psychologically to calm our busy minds.

When I stopped by that brown bridge form a bygone time, the effects took hold. After hiking for 2 hours, I wasn’t (too) tired. In fact, I was refreshed. My mind had been cleared from any thought about my work. I was present here, among the dark green leaves and the orange-brown floor. The clear stream gurgling quietly as it made its way down to inevitably fall at the falls. The air was filled with sounds, not of cars or sirens, or computer fans or TVs, but of the stream, the wind rustling leaves, and birdsong. It was peaceful. It was soothing. It was.

Flickr.com

Forest bathing is something everyone can do, and it can be as simple as going to your garden or visiting a park. Especially during these times, a little nature can go a long way.

--

--