Anxious in Varanasi

Jan Cornall
High Season Low Season
3 min readJan 9, 2024

By Margaret Manson

Ganesha Dreaming. Photo by Margaret Manson.

India, 16 November 2023 — Travelling West again. Leaving behind the holy frenzy of Varanasi.

This poem emerged from Jan Cornall’s list writing exercise but was equally “provoked” by a baffling critique given to me by our gorgeous troubadour, Anubrato Ghatak about another poem I wrote. This is a rhyming proof of the power of words. One word can create or destroy. Thank you, Jan and Anub.

Acrid words

turn to sweet chai

I am anxious … my soul hurts

But don’t quite know why

My mind is wide open

My senses alert

The colour, the texture, the smells…

My eyes avert

I don’t want to see

What my mind aims to present

The past is ahead, the future behind

And there is no now

To make me content

Unopened blue doors, and the

Gaping green

What lies at the end of the

Dim passage, deep, deep within…

Is there pure joy, will there be

Laughter?

Will the copper sun over the Ganga

Shine on me

Still before the after?

I cast my mind’s eyes to the

Golden haze

Jaisalmer’s memory coats tightly

My troubled brain’s maze

Then, the rivulets of the liquid gold

And the sounds and colour,

And history and thoughts.

Flow slowly together

To cast my new mould.

Will the mould fit me? Will it suit me well?

Will there be room for the bright wooden horses

The mirrors and the mad music

Of my life’s carousel?

As I leave, the chest full of feelings

India, the eternal, will here remain

And I need to step into

My own river of normality again.

Will it be the same?

Can I step into the same river twice?

Philosophers have asked, and answered

And then tossed the dice.

I want to shout, Ganesha, please

Give me my voice.

I don’t need to sing or speak, I just

Want to have choice.

© Margaret Manson, 2023.

Just dreaming in Varanasi. Photo by Margaret Manson.

Margaret Manson stopped writing poetry at the age of eleven but occasionally, she escapes into poetry when things get beyond tough. She is the founder of a marketing consultancy, InnoFuture, and a content strategist and writer for technology companies. For her clients, she creates original content just like any artist. Margaret joined Jan Cornall on the Story Hunters India tour in 2023 to be inspired and in search of her own voice. Jan showed Margaret how to write to prevent things from getting beyond tough. Margaret dares to imagine that one day she can replace her title from CMO on Demand to Writer in Demand. To be seen.

Margaret Manson in Jaisalmer. Photo by Iona Mackenzie

Margaret took part in Story Hunters India, a 16 day creative odyssey organised by Blue Swan Events with Writers Journey.

www.writersjourney.com

@_writersjourney

--

--

Jan Cornall
High Season Low Season

Writer,traveler-leads international creativity retreats. Come write with me at www.writersjourney.com.au