One Night in Tulum

Jinann Bitar
highbrowhabibti
Published in
2 min readJan 15, 2021

The Perfect Packing List

If you have ever had the pleasure of visiting the Riveria Maya in Quintana Roo, Mexico, you probably heard the news about Tulum… it’s kind of a thing. Okay, it’s no longer a secret oasis, but there is plenty of rest, relaxation, fun, and even adventure to be had in this infamous coastal town.

While spending time with friends in Playa del Carmen, I decided to pop down to Tulum for one night only. It is quite easy to travel by taxi or shuttle in the region, but I generally pride myself on my public transportation skills (shocking, I know), so I actually took the colectivo. In case you feel called to check out the magic of Tulum for 24 hours, I kept a packing list to help you put together your overnight bag and make a move.

This is a snapshot of the tropical jumpsuit I threw over my swimwear and added the all-important sun hat.

13 Item Packing List:

Classic Vans sneakers

Sandals

Swimsuit

Sun hat

Tropical jumpsuit

White linen pants

Black bodysuit

Colorful scarf

Black biker shorts

Black crop top

Neutral crop top

Sweatshirt

Baseball cap

Here you can see I tied the colorful scarf as a crop top and added it to black biker shorts and my classic Vans.

As always, the trick to a well-packed bag is to include items that can be used in multiple ways. For example, packing linen pants to use with a bodysuit or over your swimwear keeps things simple. You can go from yoga by day to sound bath at night. Dress things up with a colorful scarf, or keep things casual by adding your baseball cap. In the end, whatever you pack will be fine, because if you know anything about Tulum, it’s all about being in the present moment!

--

--

Jinann Bitar
highbrowhabibti

Research junkie. Boba addict. Fashion fuels me, music moves me. Into menial things like higher education, social mobility, and justice.