North Haven Spa: A haven I needed, indeed

by Rahndal Rico | May 28, 2024

Highland 360
Highland 360
3 min readMay 28, 2024

--

Photo by Rahndal Rico

It was during my 22nd birthday when I first discovered North Haven Spa. I am not new to spas. In fact, my friends know that I am a spa-goer. There is something celestial about getting a deep tissue massage especially when the therapist knows where to put pressure on.

Just beside Casa Vallejo, North Haven Spa is located at Upper Session Road, Baguio City. Surrounded by tall pine trees, its Victorian style reminds me of the famous Laperal White House — the white-painted wooden planks and green steep roof make the whole aura uncanny but comforting.

As I entered its main door, I was greeted with a vintage fluorescent chandelier. Its warm-tinted light complements the textured chocolate walls. The guests’ table is covered with inabel (an Igorot handwoven fabric). On top of it are various scrub lotions that anyone can apply to their skin before they avail their preferred service. I scooped a small amount of bamboo charcoal scrub and rubbed it on my arms. The tiny beads are enough to purge those dead skin cells.

The pacific sound and soothing floral aroma make the spa a haven indeed. It is as if you landed in an earthy forest — away from the messy, concrete jungle.

Mountain Treat

North Haven Spa offers a wide range of indigenous massage. The Gis-Gis-to refers to a traditional head massage of the Mountain Province while the Get-Get-e refers to a back massage of the Western part of the Province.

I availed the Tal-Talad-tad, an hour-and-a-half indigenous full-body massage through gentle and smooth strokes. I knew I deserved this after a two-week-long tug-of-war.

They also offer packages such as Sagada Bliss (a combination of foot spa and Hot Stone massage) and Benguet Breeze (a combination of massage Ventosa and body scrub).

I waited for an hour before getting called. This is normal, I guess, considering it was Friday and a bunch of older people were in the queue. But all I know is that my tight and stiff shoulders were definitely longing for such a “knead”.

Photo by Rahndal Rico

A Rebirth

Twilight came and I was finally called by my therapist. His name is Jeremy. He is prim and proper and I can attest that he is well-groomed by his chosen words and body language.

Jeremy led me to this dimmed, narrow aisle. The blooming scent of the atmosphere remains intact. I stripped off my clothes in the clients’ area and threw them into the rattan basket. Then I put on my satin silk robe like a king.

The massage room is massive! When I say massive, I mean it can accommodate up to four clients. As I lay myself in the massage bed, Jeremy began his work.

He started stroking my left foot, then my right foot. Upward to my limbs, thighs, and glutes. Then to my back. As soon as he began kneading my back like a dough, he uttered, “Ang lambot ng katawan mo, Sir, ah. Parang babae.” I just laughed it off and took it as a compliment.

I asked Jeremy how long he has been working as a massage therapist. “Bago pa lang ako, Sir. Mga five months pa lang,” he replied. I was surprised. He already rubs like a god. He was even able to crack my back!

His Tal-Talad-tad techniques were incomparable to the previous massages I had before. His strokes were quite heavy yet his soft man-sized hands allowed me to transcend to another universe.

After crushing my muscle knots, Jeremy wrapped it up with a tropical-scented aromatherapy oil. And just like that, I am a new person.

My back is filled with excess baggage and it is through massage I get to fully let them go. North Haven Spa is a haven I needed, indeed. Sure enough, this will not be the last time I will visit this place.

--

--