Kereita Ziplining Experience with Hikers Afrique

Ruth Nanje
Hikers Afrique
Published in
3 min readJun 21, 2021

Welcome to East Africa’s longest zip line experience ,“Flying fox at Kereita”, by me🤗. Kereita zipline is located in the heart of Kereita forest, Kimende town (Kiambu county). Approximately 1hr drive from Nairobi City.

Kereita was really fun....really fun. Before I did it, I was quite fearful, considering we had signed a contract like form to say that we’re aware of the risks and we agree to do it. You can imagine what was going through my head at that moment 😃, contemplating whether to do it or not. The mere thought of falling to the ground inside a forest with creatures I do not know 🤣 sent my brain into a series of do it/ leave it.

Second, came the practice before doing the real thing. “ The right hand should be on top of the line, move it to the back when holding the brakes, and ensure the left hand is down to support you", said the instructor. Because I was in panic mode, I did the complete opposite when the guy shouted: “break!” I had both my hands in front and on the line😂😂.

Regardless, I didn’t let my guard down and went ahead to do the real thing. My adrenaline levels were quite high when the instructor pushed me to start the ride. I almost thought I was gonna be stuck middle way and had to do “monkey business" as we called it — turning around and pushing yourself to the end — but God got me. I made it to the end🤗. During the second round, I was no longer fearful. I went with the flow thus enjoyed the ride. I even had #hikeronabudget take a video of me flying.😊

Hiker on a Budget

Will I do it again??? Yes, like a thousand times. This experience reflects aspects in our lives where we’re usually afraid of taking up challenges. The trick, however, is to do it and face the consequences later on😂. Another practical example of challenges I feared taking on is doing this blog😛 , but I felt a sense of satisfaction after doing it. Moving forward, expect more of this from me.

If you haven’t done Zip lining, you’re really missing out on the fun and adventure.

Disclaimer: If you’re pregnant, have injuries, have heart issues…don’t take the risk.

--

--

Ruth Nanje
Hikers Afrique

BioinformaticianlCancerGenomicsEnthusiastlHikerIWriter