The ride to Kisite & Wasini Island - My battle with sea sicknessšŸ˜Ø

Ruth Nanje
Hikers Afrique
Published in
3 min readAug 8, 2021

I have always been afraid of boat rides but sea sickness was way out of the picture. I didnā€™t see it coming until that fateful day.

The sun rose and our guide was on our necks trying to ensure we donā€™t miss out on the bus and definitely the dayā€™s activities.

The kind of patience and team management this guide has is top-notch and one to be emulated. If you wanna meet him, tag along to the Hikers Afrique events.

Anyways, we left in good time and arrived in Kisite Mpunguti for a fun filled day. Unawares of whatā€™s coming ahead, I joyfully joined the rest in the speed boat, ready for our first destination, Kisite Island.

No sooner had we left the mainland than I started feeling weird. My body got weak, my head got dizzy, my stomach was rumbling and I got nauseated.

For those who donā€™t know me, I am an extreme extrovert, but at this moment, I went mute. I wasnā€™t ready for any conversation. I was just looking forward to arriving at the destination of interest so I could finally breathešŸ˜‰.

I called our guide to inquire of the distance left and also let him know of my condition. To my surprise, we had not even covered half the distancešŸ˜ƒ, you can imagine the kind of stress I had at this point. The guide had to drop the photography sessions to attend to me and ensure I didnā€™t fall in the sea in the process of throwing upšŸ¤£šŸ¤£.

After like what seemed like an entire lifetime, we arrived at Kisite Island and the ā€œSnorkellersā€ were ready for the ā€œjumpā€.

I watched as each of them put on the snorkeling gears and got into the sea to watch the coral reefs and creatures of the Indian Ocean.

I hated to be the one not enjoying this moment but as life would have it, I was the only one not interested in what was happening. In my head, I was trying to calculate and re-evaluate my chances of getting back to the mainland in one piecešŸ˜‚.

After everyone was satisfied with the Snorkeling experience, we left Kisite Island for Wasini Island. The ride was quite smooth this time around because we were moving in the same direction with the waves. The major activity at Wasini Island was ā€œfeeding our stomachs" with sea food and the Wasini special drinkšŸ˜œ.

Donā€™t ask me how I managed to eat while sickšŸ˜ƒ, the sickness disappeared immediately we left Kisite Island. I was feeling better at this point in time and I could even afford a smile and engage in conversations.

After spending time in WasiniĀ island, we left for the mainland. Astonishingly, the ride back was quite short and smooth. Sea sickness was no longer my portion šŸ˜‚.

Reflecting back on that day, I can only stand in awe of Godā€™s creation. The islands, the sea and the dolphins, which we missed seeing. Nature offers a lot and sometimes we take things for granted. Itā€™s time we stand up and blend with nature.

Take up that challenge, face your fears and keep it HikersAfriquešŸ¤—

--

--

Ruth Nanje
Hikers Afrique

BioinformaticianlCancerGenomicsEnthusiastlHikerIWriter