Hiking Review: Sierra Madre, California

Bailey Canyon Trail to Jones Peak connecting to Mt. Wilson trail.

Amy Blackburn, MSG, MPH
Hiking Reviews in the U.S.A.

--

Smiling woman taking selfie with sign on pile of rocks that says, “Jones Peak” and view behind from top of mountain.
Photo of me at the top of Bailey Canyon Trail, Jones Peak, in Sierra Madre, California.

First Time Completing this Hike

The first time I completed Bailey Canyon Trail to reach the top at Jones Peak, I was not prepared and thought it would be easier than expected. It was much more difficult (and steeper) than I thought, and it took me one hour and 25 minutes.

Second Time Completing this Hike (this review)

I wanted to compare this hike to hikes in Sedona I had just completed the week before. This time I was better prepared as far as energy. I ate whole grain pasta the night before and ate some homemade rice pudding the morning of the hike. Plus, I was better conditioned the second time around.

This time, it took me one hour and 10 minutes to complete the Bailey Canyon Trail and reach Jones Peak; I cut 15 minutes off my previous time. Even being better conditioned and having eaten well, since I didn’t have hiking poles, I was still pushing off of my thighs with each step during the steepest inclines at the end.

Though this hike was in the second week of February, it was an unusually warm day. I started the hike at 7:30 a.m. on a Saturday; wearing shorts, a tank top, and a long…

--

--

Amy Blackburn, MSG, MPH
Hiking Reviews in the U.S.A.

USC Master of Public Health, gerontologist, kinesiologist, writer focusing on the dimensions of wellness, targeting self-care for family caregivers.