America will be lucky to have Tim Kaine as vice president

I have the letters that prove how much he cares about people

Julia Ann Brandon
Hillary for Virginia
2 min readOct 27, 2016

--

I don’t know Tim Kaine. I’ve never met him. But I have served our country for 38 years, and I can tell when someone actually cares about you.

Tim actually cares. He proved that to me last summer.

I always knew I wanted to join the Navy. I grew up in a small town in South Carolina, and my best friend’s father was in the Navy. As little girls, we decided that we would both follow in his footsteps and go in together. And we did.

I served nine years in the Navy, and did tours in Bermuda, San Diego, Charleston, all over the world. When I left active service, I still felt a duty to serve my country. I spent 29 years working for the Federal Government supporting the Navy. My whole life and career has been in service to the Navy.

I developed respiratory problems, including asthma, and had to have surgeries that left metal clamps in my chest. It’s painful and it requires treatment, and because of that, I receive a disability check from the Department of Veterans Affairs every month. But last year, they downgraded the disability and tried to cut my disability check in half.

That cut would have made things more difficult for me, so a friend suggested that I write my Congressman, but I didn’t even know who my Congressman or Senator was. So I Googled it. I’m an educated person, but I don’t know much about politics. Senator Kaine’s name popped up in Google, and I sent him a letter on a Monday.

By Friday, he had responded to me. He let me know that he had contacted the Office of Veterans Affairs on my behalf.

Within two weeks, the office reversed their decision and reinstated my full benefits.

Tim Kaine didn’t know me. He had no idea who I was. But he fought for me. I’m 62 years old, and Tim is the first politician who has ever done anything for me.

Join Julia and the thousands of Virginians who are working hard to elect Hillary Clinton by signing up to volunteer today!

--

--