Meet our Spring 2022 Fellows

The Lepage Center is delighted to announce its Spring 2022 History Fellows: Isaiah Kazunga BA’22 and Hannah Bourne MA’22. The Fellows will assist the Center in all the ways it communicates historical scholarship and perspectives to various audiences, including events, workshops, and social media. Below is a transcript of their conversation, by way of introduction.

Isaiah

Photo of Lepage Fellow, Isaiah Kazunga
Photo of Lepage Fellow Isaiah Kazunga BA’22

Why did you choose to attend Villanova?

It ended up being the best overall choice of the options I was given. I was an undecided liberal arts major coming in and thought that Villanova had a great variety of strong majors to choose from. Additionally, I loved the campus and saw myself fitting in here. I also appreciated being so near to Philadelphia, a city I really enjoyed, as well as other major cities on the east coast.

Why did you decide to become a Lepage fellow?

I had been to several Lepage-sponsored events during my time as an undergraduate and always thought that they were interesting and well-run. I love history in all of its forms, be it in an academic or public-facing setting, and love the idea of contributing to the work that the Center does. I hope to play a role in inspiring other students to think more about historical events and how they affect the world we live in today. I also hope that I can leave a legacy here, though time is rather short. I have not been as involved with non-academic facets of campus life as I had hoped I would be during my time here, so I will do my best to make the most of this opportunity in the time I have left.

What are you most looking forward to this year (either in the history program or the center)?

There is a very exciting slate of Lepage events for the semester, so it is hard to pick any one thing I am most excited about. I look forward to hearing about the MOVE Bombing in February, but I will make an effort to go to as many of the offerings as I can. I am also in the early stages of writing my senior thesis (seminar paper, idk what to call it) and look forward to developing it as the semester progresses.

What is your next step after graduation?

My next step is not yet determined. I am currently a semifinalist for a Fulbright ETA grant to Colombia and am waiting to hear back from the Colombian committee about my status. If I do not get the Fulbright, I will find a job to do for a year or two, preferably something public-facing or somehow outside the norm. After a short hiatus, I intend to apply to law school, but that is a ways down the line.

What are your long-term career dreams/goals?

I do not have any specific ideas about what my career path will look like, but I know that I would like to do work that actively helps people, particularly those who are underprivileged and underrepresented in the systems that continually fail them. There are dozens of career paths that fit this desire, and I am comfortable with leaving things open-ended for now.

What is your favorite historical topic? What drew you to study history?

It is hard to pick a lone favorite. I must sound quite wishy-washy at this point, but one of my favorite things about history is the breadth and depth of the field. I have tried to keep my historical palette as diverse as possible in my course selection and in my personal interest. If I had to pick a century, I would choose the 20th.

I love history because I love storytelling. Listening to and researching stories that I find interesting brings me a joy that hardly anything else can, and I feel lucky that I get to study history formally in addition to my personal interest. I was also drawn to the study of history because of the deeper understanding my historical background affords me with regard to current events and my own circumstances. Developing my analytical mind and uncovering truths that were previously unknown to me is a very rewarding endeavor.

What do you enjoy doing outside of class?

I enjoy a variety of hobbies in my free time. Soccer, scuba diving, cooking, baking, and reading are my most avid interests for the moment. I struggle to find time for my hobbies due to my cramped schedule and the general state the world is currently in, but I hope to find more time to dedicate to leisure activities in the near future.

Hannah

Photo of Lepage Fellow, Hannah Bourne
Photo of Lepage Fellow Hannah Bourne MA’22

Why did you choose to attend Villanova?

Villanova was one of my top choices for MA programs. The history department has some excellent faculty members in my area of interest whose work and background really impressed me. The campus looked lovely, and I wanted the chance to explore the Philadelphia area. When the department offered me admission with funding, I happily accepted!

Why did you decide to become a Lepage fellow?

When I saw the opportunity to work with the Lepage Center, I was so excited. I wanted the chance to combine my background in history and public communication to get involved in creating programming geared toward history in the public interest. I love the idea of working hands-on with a wider audience to apply history to present concerns. After graduation, I am hoping to work in the public history field, and I felt like this fellowship was a great first step toward that goal!

What are you most looking forward to this year (either in the history program or the center)?

The Lepage Center has plenty of great events lined up for the semester in our Turning Points in History Series! I am especially looking forward to our conversation on February 23 about gentrification and historical landmarks in Philadelphia. However, I have to admit that I’m also pretty excited to graduate in May!

What is your next step after graduation?

After graduation, I plan to move back to Indiana to pursue a job in public history, historic preservation, or local government. Wherever I end up, I want to start using my skills to work actively with the public!

What are your long-term career dreams/goals?

I would love to discover a career path that allows me to combine community wellness and historic preservation. I am passionate about using the built environment to enhance the health of communities and I believe history, memory, and dialogue have a huge role to play in establishing energetic civic engagement and strong community identity. At the moment, I don’t know what my future looks like, but I want to spend time working with people to incorporate the past into present spaces that nourish relationships.

What is your favorite historical topic? What drew you to study history?

I am a medievalist! My research has primarily been about women, gender, chivalry, and honor in France and Italy in the late medieval and early modern periods (around 1300–1550 CE). I am also fascinated by the way people use, imagine, and engage with history. I enjoy exploring the way history is incorporated into our understanding of who we are.

What do you enjoy doing outside of class?

I absolutely love to read about anything and everything that sparks my interest. I also love gardening and I have a large collection of house plants and orchids. I enjoy running, yoga, and being outdoors. In 2022, I am hoping to learn how to knit and bake bread!

Fellows Isaiah Kazunga and Hannah Bourne working at the Lepage Center
Fellows Isaiah Kazunga and Hannah Bourne working at the Lepage Center

--

--

Lepage Center for History in the Public Interest
Hindsights

Bringing historical scholarship & historical perspective to bear on contemporary global issues. Proud part of Villanova University. http://lepage.villanova.edu