Chapter 1 : Are God Aliens?

Abhinav Pandey
Hinduism and Science
4 min readMar 21, 2024

You always hear the phrase “Religion is a myth and Science is Reality”. Science and religion cannot go hand in hand.

When I was in high school I always used to sit in Pooja and hear stories from my grand parents in bed. Stories on Shiva, Krishna, and other gods .

How Krishna showed the whole universe in his mouth!! 😁 Sounds funny and YES I used to laugh on it as well.

However everything changed when I was in 10th Standard. I used to hit the school by 8am in winters and that day it was very foggy and cold. I put on my backpack took my bicycle and headed to school.

First class was of Physics . My teacher name was Sadaf baigh. I remember she teaching us theory of special relativity.

What is theory of special relativity? Well do not worry I wont explain physics here but lets say in plain english if I want to explain what Theory of relativity is

“Theory of special relativity talks about Time Dilation” . Ohh Crap another term. 🥲 Well lets say Time Dilation is a term in Physics which talks about how time moves either slow or different for certain objects which are travelling very fast (near speed of light ) or are near a high gravitational pull.

Enough of science!! Let us talk plain English and give you an example.

Let us say we have 2 planets A and B. I stay on planet A and my mother stays on Planet B. The clock is different on both planets. Lets say when 1 second on Planet A has elapsed then on Planet B 20 seconds have passed means time is moving 20X times faster on Planet B compared to Planet A. (Albert Einstein proved it in its Law of Special Relativity that this concept does exists and infact it was proved in experimentation that this is a real concept and not a theoretical one.)

Wait what? This Means if my mother stays on Planet B and I stay on Planet A. If my mother age is 25 years and my age is 5 years and if I go to Planet B and spend 1 year and come back on Planet A my age would be same as my mothers? 😳

Okay coming back to my class. Remember I was in class sitting and understanding these concepts as part of my physics course. Let us move ahead. As a kid I studied those concepts in that class and came home had my lunch and went to play. At night while spending time with my grand father I told him what I had studied and how time dilation works and how time is moving differently.

I even joked how if we can find a planet where time moves fast I can go there and come back to earth as his age.

Lets talk religion now.

This was when my grandfather told me a story.

Story is narrated in Vishnu Puran a hindu scripture. To be short and not to confuse and bore anyone I will say Revati was a queen whose father name was Kakudmi.

Before we move forward let me tell one more thing

In Indian Mythology, Brahma is considered the creator of the world he created and he lives on a different planet( Lets call it Brahma Lok).

Kakudmi wanted to find out who will be a good fit to whom Revati can get married on Earth. So he along with his daughter used his mystical abilities and penance to go to Brahma Lok. After several days he and his daughter managed to travel to Brahma Lok. (lets not talk how ! Remember this is not science its a religious story in hinduism we are talking about).

Moving forward Kakudmi reached Brahma Lok and met with Brahma. They greet Brahma and Kakudmi explains why he had come to see him.

Then Brahma replied you did a wise thing by bringing your daughter here.

Kakudmi had no idea what he was talking about, he asked Brahma why he said this and what would have happened had he not got his daughter with him, he asked?

Then Brahma replied you came here seeking my help and time you spent here in minutes has resulted in whole 1 yuga( 12,000 years) passing on Earth.Forget about your son-in-law, the people in your kingdom, and all your descendants have died while you were here.

Kakudmi was startled after hearing this, What have I done the selfishness of finding a groom for my daughter had this much consequence how can I rectify this mistake please help me, the King begged Brahma.

Brahma replied Don’t worry you can’t bring back the time that elapsed but you could find a groom for your daughter, present Earth is experiencing Dwapara Yuga where Lord Sri Krishna was born, the Eighth Incarnation of Lord Vishnu and he has an elder brother named Balarama you just go back to Earth and explain your situation to him he will accept your daughter as his wife.

Kakudmi went back and Balram married Revati.

I heard this story from my grandfather and we both went to sleep.

That Night I could not Sleep!!

After hearing this story and studying time dilation it all made perfect sense.

Had I not studied time dilation I would have thought this story as another mythological story which just glorifies gods for no reason.

This is the starting incident in my life where I was compelled to study more of such instances where hinduism directly correlates with science. If you liked my story please like and follow me for more of such content.

--

--

Abhinav Pandey
Hinduism and Science

Salesforce Architect @AWS | AWS & Physics Enthusiast | Quantum Physics