[Mental Health/Anxiety] I forgot what it was like talking to someone without anxiety

HIPPOCRAT Official
HIPPOCRAT
Published in
3 min readJun 14, 2024

Question content

My wife suffers from anxiety. I do not.

I ran into my elderly neighbor this morning bringing in the trash can. She asked about how my wife and I were doing and how our daughter is doing.

It was so surreal talking about my daughter to someone other than my anxious wife. There was hope, I felt like I could joke about the difficulties we’ve experienced without it triggering panic, and I could chuckle at stupid stuff.

Then I went back inside to my wife freaking out over what new food to introduce to our daughter next, what’s higher risk for allergies, what’s in season, what has high levels of histamines, etc.

I miss when I could just live and not treat every situation like it’s one step away from disaster.

I love my wife. Is it wrong that I didn’t want to go back inside to her so soon? I support her to the point I worry I’m enabling her. It’s exhausting. But I love her and don’t know what else to do. At this point she’s literally afraid of everything. Grass, air, people, food, etc. We don’t leave the house, we only have 10 foods/ingredients we eat because they’re the only “safe” foods, we wash our hands a dozen times an hour, etc.

I couldn’t believe what it was like talking to someone who wasn’t anxious…

Response to Concerns

The Contrast of Conversations Without Anxiety

Story Summary:

Relief in Normalcy: Experiencing a rare moment of normalcy and relief in conversation with someone who doesn’t share the anxiety-ridden perspective.
Struggle at Home: Returning to a home environment dominated by anxiety, where every decision is fraught with fear and uncertainty.
Desire for Balance: The longing for a balanced life where anxiety doesn’t dictate every interaction and decision, coupled with a commitment to support a loved one through their anxiety.

Cause Analysis:
Living closely with someone who experiences intense anxiety can significantly impact daily life, creating an environment where anxiety becomes a pervasive force. The contrast felt when stepping outside this environment highlights the deep desire for a sense of normalcy and the challenges of supporting a loved one while managing one’s own well-being.

Present Countermeasures:

Couple’s Therapy: Engaging in therapy together can help both partners understand and manage anxiety’s impact on the relationship and find healthier ways to communicate and cope.
Self-Care: Prioritizing your own mental health and finding activities that provide personal relief and balance.
Education and Support: Learning about anxiety together, exploring support groups or resources that can offer strategies and understanding for both partners.

Concluding Remarks:
Your empathy and commitment to supporting your loved one are commendable, yet it’s also crucial to care for your own well-being. Finding a balance where anxiety doesn’t overshadow every aspect of life is essential for both of you. Together, with the right support and strategies, you can build a stronger, more understanding relationship that accommodates both your needs. Remember, seeking help is a sign of strength, not a weakness. You’re navigating a challenging path with love and patience. 🌱

Important Notice: The insights and guidance offered here are generated with the assistance of a advanced medical artificial intelligence (Hippo) and should not be interpreted as professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Hippo does not accept liability for any direct or indirect consequences arising from the application of information provided. For an accurate diagnosis and a comprehensive understanding of your health concerns, please consult with a qualified healthcare professional.

Source: https://www.reddit.com/r/Anxiety/comments/17s9bb7/i_forgot_what_it_was_like_talking_to_someone/

--

--

HIPPOCRAT Official
HIPPOCRAT

Hippocrat is a team that aims to build a global health data collection/utilization ecosystem.