A Little Bit About My Backstory, Hobbies, and Interests

Will Black
Will Black
Published in
3 min readMar 3, 2017

Born at St. Joseph’s Hospital in the midst of peak hurricane season in September 1994, I’d lived in Tampa my whole life…

I attended Tampa Preparatory School for high school, where I was a varsity swimmer, senior mentor, led the spirit group, and received the William H. Krusen “Left my Mark” Award.

…until I decided to attend school 1,200 miles away at the University of Missouri.

The only time I don’t like Mizzou? When it’s 21 degrees outside.

Once I arrived at Mizzou, I joined my fraternity, Phi Gamma Delta (FIJI), where I’ve made some of my closest friends, served on the executive board, and had an overall great college experience because of my decision to join FIJI.

“We didn’t get kicked off campus, good job guys!”
FIJI is currently the reigning champ in the A & B Greek Flag Football leagues for two years in a row now.

While at Missouri, I discovered one of my true passions, college football. Every Saturday from August through January I live and breathe college football. Before I settle down and have a family, I’d like to visit every SEC stadium, as well as all the major non-SEC ones like The Big House, The Rose Bowl, and Darrell K Royal-Texas Memorial, to name a few.

I’m definitely going to miss attending games at Faurot Field on fall Saturdays.
When the college football national championship was in Tampa, I had the opportunity of a lifetime to go to the game. It’ll be one of the coolest things in my life.

Another thing you need to know about me is that I love the water. I swam competitively from age 6 through my sophomore year in high school, and after that I coached swimming as a part-time job.

I’ve also been fishing since I could stand in the water and it’s one of the reasons I’d like to move back to Tampa after I graduate in May. As soon as I have enough money, you can be sure I’m going to buy a small boat of my own — regardless of how many people tell me that boats are money pits.

Just one of the many fish I’ve pulled from the Tampa Bay waters.
We took a family trip to Ireland in the summer of 2016. One of the things we did was salmon fish on Lough Leane.

Outside of fishing and sports, I also thoroughly enjoy road trips, video games, streaming TV shows and movies, and reading.

In college, I’ve tried to take at least one road trip per year (if not try to squeeze in one each semester). Driving from Missouri, I’ve made round trips to Colorado, Oklahoma, Texas, Georgia, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Alabama, and Tennessee. I don’t know what it is about road trips, but I’ve never had any issues with being in a car for eight hours. If I had the time and money, I’d really like to RV around and visit cheesy tourist traps.

As with many millennials, I stream nearly all of my TV shows and movies. I like to think I’m fairly up-to-date on the most popular shows, with the exception of This Is Us and Shameless, those get too heavy for me at times.

These are just a few of my favorite TV shows and movies.

Hopefully, this has helped you get to know who I am outside of work and school. If you’d like to know more, feel free to reach out to me!

--

--