Do you truly love your spouse?

Amanda Winter
His Beautiful Mess
Published in
2 min readMay 11, 2013

My husband is a precious gift of God. He points out my sin. He brings my focus back to Jesus Christ and helps me fight sin and when I fall He picks me up. He is a constant encouragement to me.

He is not perfect-he is but a man. And I am not perfect either. As wives, we are called to direct our husbands as well and help them make decisions and help point them to Christ when they are in sin. So, the responsibility doesn’t just rely on the husbands.

Also, to be able to love someone well and help them to recognize their sin and point them to Christ we must have a thriving relationship with Christ and be in the word daily.

Ephesians 5: 25–27 says, “Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her to make her holy, cleansing[a] her by the washing with water through the word, and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless.”

Husbands are obedient to the Lord. Lovingly correct your wife and rebuke her in love and help her see her sin and point her eyes back to Jesus.

This is how you truly love her. As wives, we must do the same.

--

--

Amanda Winter
His Beautiful Mess

Christ Follower. Wife of @jcwinter. Homemaker. Lover of People. Mentor. Lyme Disease Warrior.