The Rebirth of The Historiotheque

J.G. Dufray
Historiotheque
Published in
3 min readMar 6, 2023
The user interface concept for the AntiOS operating system. A.G. © 2023. All Rights Reserved.

The latest release of The Historiotheque was Official Release v.3.0.1, released on December 29th, 2016, after which I took a sabbatical, originally meant to be for 2017 until 2018. I ended up taking a sabbatical for another 6 years.

Here we are in March, 2023, and I am releasing the Official Release v.3.0.2, of The Historiotheque. I began producing less and less artistic content in my Art Operation (“ArtOps 2.0”) over the last few years, and now am right in the throes of a hugely prolific period in my evolution as an artist.

I’m happy and proud to say that the studio, still called The Historiotheque, is up and running. I’ve begun posting new cultural artifacts to Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn, as well as on blogs. I’m more inspired than ever and more functional and happy than ever. My thoughts are highly structured and my speech is profoundly well-articulated, something which wasn’t true for the better part of the last 20 years.

A “Refcard” about “Database Arts”, which is the archival substrate for the Art Operations at The Historiotheque.

I have suffered from debilitating mental health problems for the last 27 years. Now things are changing. I am in remission and essentially outgrew my original diagnosis. This never stopped me from being a prolific artist except in the last few years. Now I am back on track. These are truly revolutionary times.

What is Field Art. A.G. © 2015–2023. All Rights Reserved.

I am a Field Artist, an “Artiste de Terrain” in French. I’m also an experimental researcher and producer. The Official Release v.3.0.2 was a long time in coming. Sometimes things move slowly in the life of an artist-researcher. I have been focusing much more on my music and on my interdisciplinary research. I have also been programming in the Python language, building out my Refcards-Systems. The goal is to eventually replace myself with a archival system and production methodology that functions as an intelligent agent. I call that system Schizobot.

The Refcards-System. A.G. © 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Now I am creating short texts that are accompanied by digital works as well as photography. There will also be a place for audio recordings “in the field” as well as in the studio, and also some video content, including livestreams and other things. The Historiotheque is live, and now it is The Art Operation 3.0 that is being undertaken and adopted as my working methodology. I will also be workin gon the ALX system which is my rigorous design workflow management methodology.

History-Painting. A.G. © 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Many years ago, starting in the summer of 2001, I began an interdisciplinary art and research project that lasted many years, collectively called The History-Project. It involved creative writing, fiction, poetry, and essays, as well as paintings and drawings and music and sound design. I essentially work in three mediums: IMAGE / SOUND / TEXT. Those, for me, are three facets of my ARTISTIC EXPRESSION.

More to come…

Sincerely,

Chief Art Operator
A.G. © 2023. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

J.G. Dufray
Historiotheque

ἵστωρ (hístōr, “witness”) +‎ θήκη (thḗkē, “box, chest”).