The World’s First Female Conductor and All The Hate She Received

I’ll never waver from my path ~ Antonia Brico

Veronika Kaufmann
History of Women

--

wiki commons images of conductor and pianist Antonia Brico 1902–1989

The professor I loved the most in the whole world said to me, ‘It won’t work … it won’t work … it won’t work. Even if you get accepted into schools it won’t work. Nobody wants a woman conductor. How’s that for your ego? Pretty bad, right? Well, it just went in one ear and out the other” ~ Excerpt From In One Ear and Out the Other

Still unknown even among music experts. I’m here to change that, with my small contribution to spreading the word about Antonia Brico, the first female conductor. Trailblazer, for she set the path she walked, on fire. She went through too many setbacks, insults, abuses, and discriminations in the fight for equal rights for us to not know about her life. Antonia Brico, born in the Netherlands, immigrated with adoptive parents to the United States.

I’ll never waver from my path

Antonia Brico

Gramophone, the British magazine for classical music, listed the 20 best orchestras in the world —…

--

--