50+ Former Durham Bulls in MLB Postseason

Durham Bulls
Oct 3 · 2 min read

The Durham Bulls have always had a good showing of former players in the MLB postseason both playing and coaching. This year is no different, except that it is. The Tampa Bay Rays, Durham’s parent club, made the playoffs for the first time since 2013, meaning that a majority of this year’s list is made up of Rays.

2019 Durham Bulls Opening Day

That list of Tampa Bay Rays includes Willy Adames (2017–18), Anthony Banda (2018–19), Jalen Beeks (2019), Mike Brosseau (2019), Diego Castillo (2017–18), Yonny Chirinos (2017–18), Ji-Man Choi (2018), Jose De Leon (2017, 2019), Oliver Drake (2019), Matt Duffy (2016, 2019), Peter Fairbanks (2019), Avisail Garcia (2019), Tyler Glasnow (2019), Guillermo Heredia (2019), Kevin Kiermaier (2012–14, 2018), Andrew Kittredge (2017–19), Brandon Lowe (2018–19), Nate Lowe (2018–19), Brendan McKay (2019), Austin Meadows (2018), Emilio Pagan (2019), Michael Perez (2019), Colin Poche (2018–19), Austin Pruitt (2016–19), Trevor Richards (2019), Daniel Robertson (2016–17, 2019), Chaz Roe (2017), Blake Snell (2015–17, 2019), Joey Wendle (2019), Ryan Yarbrough (2017, 2019), Manager Kevin Cash (2005–06), Bench Coach Matt Quatraro (2002), Hitting Coach Chad Mottola (2003), First Base Coach Ozzie Timmons (2000), Bullpen Catcher Mayo Acosta (2012, 2014–16) and Major League Field Coordinator Paul Hoover (2000–02, 2004–05).

Los Angeles Dodgers Pitcher Adam Kolarek pitches for the Bulls in 2016.

From the Washington Nationals, Jeremy Hellickson (2009–10, 2014) and Assistant Hitting Coach Joe Dillon (2009–10). From the Los Angeles Dodgers, Dylan Floro (2015–16), Adam Kolarek (2016–18), Casey Sadler (2019), First Base Coach George Lombard (1997, 2003) and Game Planning Coach Chris Gimenez (2012–13).

From the Atlanta Braves, Adeiny Hechavarria (2018), Matt Joyce (1009–10, 2012), Manager Brian Snitker (1980, Bulls Manager 1983–84, 1987) and Catching Coach Sal Fasano (2002).

Minnesota Twins Manager Rocco Baldelli hits for the Durham Bulls in 2002.

From the Minnesota Twins, Jake Odorizzi (2013), Manager Rocco Baldelli (2002, 2006–07, 2010) and Major League Coach Bill Evers (Bulls Manager 1998–05). From the New York Yankees, Major League Quality Control Coach Carlos Mendoza (1998–99). From the Houston Astros, Robinson Chirinos (2011).

Who will be the final Bull(s) standing as 2019 World Series Champion?

Hit Bull Win Blog


Durham Bulls

Written by

Proud Triple-A affiliate of the Tampa Bay Rays

Hit Bull Win Blog


Welcome to a place where words matter. On Medium, smart voices and original ideas take center stage - with no ads in sight. Watch
Follow all the topics you care about, and we’ll deliver the best stories for you to your homepage and inbox. Explore
Get unlimited access to the best stories on Medium — and support writers while you’re at it. Just $5/month. Upgrade