Wool E. Bull’s Letter to Bulls Fans

Durham Bulls
Hit Bull Win Blog
Published in
2 min readDec 8, 2015

On Tuesday afternoon the Lehigh Valley IronPigs reported an agreement had been reached with the Durham Bulls, to trade one of the IronPigs’ mascots, Hambone, to Durham in exchange for Wool E. Bull.

Roughly 30 minutes later the Durham Bulls addressed the report, citing anonymous sources Wool E. Bull would not waive his no-trade clause.

On Tuesday evening, Wool E. Bull passed along a letter to the Durham Bulls PR department citing his desire to stay in Durham. The full text of the letter is below:

Bulls Fans,

Earlier today it was reported that I had been involved in a trade to the Lehigh Valley IronPigs in exchange for one of their mascots, Hambone. There were reports the only reason the deal fell through is because of a failed physical exam, which negated the trade.

I’d like to set the record straight, and inform you that those reports were inaccurate. Since I first signed with the Bulls, a no-trade clause has always been a part of my contract. The DBAP is my home. You, our amazing fans, have cared for me as one of your own, inviting me to birthday parties and festivals and parades. For reasons such as these, I would never want to leave this city.

I’ve spent my entire career with the Durham Bulls, and this is where I intend to end my career, whenever that day may come. Know that I have no aspirations to leave Durham, and I have no desire to perform for any crowd other than the DBAP’s. You, the fans, are the reason I wake up in the morning.

Thanks, and go Bulls.

Wool E. Bull

Wool E. Bull, a Durham staple, signed a 13-year contract extension with the Bulls in November of 2014, just days after the Marlins inked slugger Giancarlo Stanton to a contract of the same length.

--

--