Stories of Sweet Social Impact Vol. 7

HiVE
HiVE
Published in
6 min readApr 27, 2017

With Denise Williams, Executive Director of the First Nations Technology Council

Denise Williams, ED of the First Nations Technology Council

Stories of Sweet Social Impact is our monthly member series. Each month we sit down with a HiVE member or alumni to learn more about what makes them tick and the work that they’re doing to change the world.

Canada 150 is fast approaching, and we’ve been thinking a lot about (well, we think about it every day) what it means to live in Vancouver, for many of us as settlers. How does the colonial system serve us? How does it oppress First Nations communities? Most importantly — how can we learn from these communities on our journey to mend and try to heal the damage done to First Nations communities across Canada by colonizers?

At the HiVE, we are so lucky to have incredible organizations like the First Nations Technology Council working their magic. The FNTC is dedicated to advocating for and creating equitable access to technology and competitive training in technology sectors for First Nations communities. We asked the FNTC’s Executive Director Denise Williams to share more about her own journey and her goals for the FNTC!

Give us the low down on what FNTC does, and what your role is.

The First Nations Technology Council is a not for profit with a big mandate from all 203 First Nations communities in the province, ensure all are equitably connected to digital and connected technologies and ensure all have the ability to use those technologies for the advancement of strong self-determining nations.

What many British Columbians don’t know is that First Nations communities have the lowest levels of connectivity in all of Canada. Often fibre runs right past these communities because the Provincial government and big telcos lack the political will to do right and instead stay focused on increasing subscribers at the cost of fair accessibility in an almost completely digitally reliant economy.

So we are changing that. We build programming that strengthens First Nations skills and abilities to utilize technology and land jobs in the technology and innovation sector. We advocate for policy changes within the provincial and federal governments that will achieve equity and accessibility and we lead research on the integration of technology in First Nations communities. We find our way into any discussion or table that will move this agenda forward and we are known for doing so collaboratively.

For years we bootstrapped this organization. A tremendous effort from a few individuals has landed us in a position of unprecedented success. You will notice the First Nations Technology Council growing exponentially as we welcome new investments that will allow our movement to take shape in a much more broad and impactful way. We are stoked right now, so you may notice us being even louder and happier than before!

When you graduated high school what did you want to do?

I wanted to be a scientist. Being from a small town and from a family of foresters, I thought that although I didn’t quite have the tolerance for cold that would make me a good machine operator, perhaps I could be a toxicologist or something in environmental science that would be in the field, in a lab and more, well, sustainability focused! I later failed organic chemistry in my second year of college and was never quite confident in my scientific prowess after that. I denied my strengths in business and politics for quite some time, only to realize that all that my 90s rage against the machine angst and love for chatting with people could actually be of use.

What’s one thing you’ve always wanted to do, but haven’t yet?

I have always wanted to launch my own business from the ground up. I have ideas, maybe even good ones. I’ve done many a business model canvas and pitching, but I’ve been too busy building in the not for profit sector and learning lessons here so far. I admire so much the people who have the courage to step out on their own with nothing but their own ideas and an impenetrable resilience to stick with it. Maybe one of my fave things about being at the HiVE, I love listening to [the] stories and staying inspired by what [the members] do.

What books are at your bedside?

Thinking Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman

Outliers by Malcom Gladwell

The Inevitable by Kevin Kelly

Harvard Business Review Magazines

Before working at FNTC, what was the most unusual or interesting job you’ve ever had?

I had to start looking after myself when I was quite young and as a result I had many many jobs, often 2 or 3 at a time since full time work was so hard to get. The most unusual combination of shifts I was doing was at Superstore, assembling BBQs and patio furniture for display; Gothic Alternative, providing the piercing studio with support; and, More Than Movies, working night shifts on evening and weekends renting people movies and making popcorn. It wouldn’t qualify as the most interesting work I’ve ever done, but it taught me a lot about working hard, staying focused and doing my best even when it was really hard and I was really tired.

What does social impact mean to you?

I think of social impact as the work we do individually and collectively at the micro, mezzo and macro level that ultimately promotes systems change. For me, this is all about creating movement or “moving the needle” on inequality, improving wealth distribution, improving income mobility and building a more dynamic labour market. Even at the personal and interactional level this matters in creating social impact. I think it matters where we focus our attention everyday, it matters how you treat people, how you show up and what you choose to do to make this a better place for all. It’s a matter of justice for me, and one that I take very personally.

What brought you to HiVE?

I learned about the HiVE in the woods of Hollyhock at the Social Venture Institute from Eesmyal [Santos-Brault, HiVE Member]. This happened right at the time when I was asked to become the interim ED during the Council’s most difficult years financially and otherwise. I made a series of tough decisions and one was to let go of our large office space in West Vancouver and move the team over. It helped us manage that difficult time, connected us with a whole new community and gave us a home to rebuild in. I will be forever grateful to the HiVE and all the people within it that supported us.

What was your first impression of HiVE?

I found it to be immediately welcoming and fun. It’s always been a good experience for me especially since my company changes in size and scope almost every year and the HiVE team has done everything possible to accommodate and support us. I knew this was the right place right away and that’s never changed.

What are your hopes for your industry?

All First Nations communities have access to high-speed internet and mobile services. All First Nations communities have the skills and connections to be competitive in the technology sector. All First Nations people have the opportunity to become entrepreneurs and change/save the world.

What’s one thing you wish people knew about FNTC/your industry?

First Nations people are the original technologists and innovators on these territories. This is unceded land and all Canadians have a responsibility to play a role in reconciliation and reconciliation through innovation. Learn more, connect with us, join the movement!

What do you love about being a HiVE member?

I love being a HiVE member because I love connecting with all the individuals and businesses that call this home. It sets the right tone everyday for me to be greeted by all our kind and friendly neighbours and have quick chats about what’s going on and sharing a laugh. We have a lot of fun at HiVE West and have really settled into a new groove that’s been just awesome.

Is there any type of support that you’re looking for, or a particular project you want to share?

We are moving fast into building a much larger organization. I’m always looking to be connected with businesses, leaders and thinkers in the tech and innovation space or with anyone that wants to learn more to help us spread the word. We’ll be positing a lot of new jobs at the Council so I would be grateful if HiVE members wouldn’t mind passing them on to their networks! Jobs will be posted on the First Nations Knowledge Network at www.fnbc.info.

Thank you, Denise, and FNTC, for all of the important work you’re doing. You’re an invaluable member of our community with so much knowledge to offer and we are so happy to have you! Check out the FNTC here.

--

--

HiVE
HiVE
Editor for

HiVE is a community hub with a mission to support and amplify the social impact sector in Vancouver, BC. hivevancouver.com.