Devourer of Memories! Where Did Time Go?

Tomiwa Onaleye
Hoblife
Published in
2 min readJul 19, 2019

My eyes hurt like pins lined my lashes. Consciousness flooded into my mind as thoughts grabbled in my mind for reason. I rolled and felt something hard pinching my side. I sort blindly and pulled out my phone, lighting it up I saw a big 6:00 am with the shadow of the sun just above my shoulder. As I stared at my phone time slowed, I couldn’t remember how I ended up in my bed. I kept cajoling my brain to sentience, digging at thought and memory but nothing surfaced.

One handheld awkwardly to defy the sun, I buried my head between my lap to still the reeling in my skull. My last memory placed me flagging down a cab around 8:30 pm. Frame by frame I dissected by memories but I couldn’t piece out the missing 15 hours of yesterday.

Scenarios rattled my skull, thinking about the different possibilities and repercussion if something insane had happened. Like a roll of a double dice, the odds of rolling a devil's eyes scared the skin out of my flesh. Fingering the handle of my bedroom door, I drove forward hungering for answers.

The past infected my memories, dreams and imagination my mind wrought assaulted my consciousness. Making it difficult to piece out the singular memory that held truth. I took in the sight of my revolution seeking inspiration in the traces of memories I imbued in them. Yet none jumped to alight my minds need for answers.

I was lost in the confusion that thinking wouldn’t solve. Trapped in an enigma hidden in the lost recesses of my brain, sanity sipped slowly as answers faded. My aching skull demanded an answer that no one except the impossible could answer.

--

--

Tomiwa Onaleye
Hoblife
Editor for

I write experiences that scream to be expressed, to trap beauty and priceless moments so it isn’t lost to time.