My Encounter with Jimmy the Butcher

Tomiwa Onaleye
Hoblife
Published in
3 min readFeb 17, 2019

Paraplegic, I laid there on the cold pavement, drowning in the pain of having an axe buried deep within my skull. My perception changed, and suddenly I could see myself lying helplessly in a pool of blood. I stood rigidly perplexed by the fear and anger I saw hidden behind his eye. The shock griped me, sending dumbfounded chills down my spine. I looked down on my bloodied body but instead of a human, I beheld a gigantic demon clothed in thorns and crowned with horns.

He sounds of feet on cobblestone re-ascertained my focus to the fact that the world was moving by. I looked out of the alley and saw hell. I saw demons of various kinds walking where humans should be, shaken and unbelieving I craned my neck to make certain what my sight beheld. Breathe caught up in the throat, I saw eyes that burnt like a fiery inferno spreading anger, deceit and judgement. Understanding gripped me, the realization that the world I beheld was the universe in which the serial killer lived.

I felt the dangerous vibrations in the air and the venomous whispers that flowed in the winds seeding pain and hunger in every inch of soil. Negative energy blanketed the clouds, dropping in a torrential capacity where sun grappled to rise. I understood then the root of his anger and the genesis of his hostility. I felt the ravishing destructiveness that he was exposed to and knew how irrevocably damaged he would be.

Sarcastic laughter escaped my lips, the twisted idea that he believes he’s the superhero of this universe purifying the world of monstrous demons. I knew what I perceived as blood was to him sanctification. I knew what I saw as monstrosity was to him justice. He reveled in the pleasure, thrill and hell of it because the screams of his victims is an absolution to his deranged mind.

A monster that dwells beyond the frontier of madness is a description that does him little justice. He is a dark heart created by humans twisted views of the world, born of the guilt and the words of hate we grew. A man who pierced the depth of Medusa eyes, reborn with blood dripping from his petrifying soul and shadows flowing of his heart to stone. A man without guilt or remorse, who revels in the salvation of spilling blood and believes his destiny is to rid the world of humans.

He killed, he devoured and pleasured in blood because he wasn’t just human anymore. He had evolved into a predator that fed on humans, a completely different species that isn’t of this world. His thoughts were wrapped like the maddest of minds and his action eye-popping, frightening and sleazily fascinating. His hunger grows ravenous with each victim he adds to his trophy cabinet and his skill ever exquisite dealing deadly hacks with satellite precision. He was murder, he was death with tongue laced in retribution.

--

--

Tomiwa Onaleye
Hoblife
Editor for

I write experiences that scream to be expressed, to trap beauty and priceless moments so it isn’t lost to time.