When Love, at First Sight, Becomes Unmagical — Diary of the Victims

Tomiwa Onaleye
Hoblife
Published in
4 min readMar 9, 2019

Day 7,

Pandemonium ensued as the earth carried the cries of my witnesses through the unruly sky, feeding the currents like virus of the air. Many watched in abject horror filled with fascination at the serene turmoil my blood wreaked on the surface of the massif. My gorgeous blue eyes stared lifelessly at the blue-white sky reading the map of the end and in my right hand hung on death’s prayer was a thorny rose pleading for her love as its blood-stained petals drifted into the gales.

Gasping in shock, I stood motionless willing my heart to stop reeling. Transfixed at how much she mirrored the lady of my dreams, I blinked my eyelids fearing I might wake up and realize that I was hallucinating. Like a lion who smells dinner I growl, swinging my head sharply in her direction as she walked past. She was so acute to her own beauty my reaction didn’t even startle her, we were so close that my hand took judgement into his hands by grabbing her hand and grinding her to a halt.

In the indulgence of sunlight, I could map out the pattern of her irises. They weren’t pure black but a hundred different shades of black and they seemed to trap light in their shadows. So, lost in my senses I didn’t realize early that as avidly as I looked, she measured me also. She looked at me with an inquisitive gaze which seemed to shine like amber haloing her pupils.

She was an absolute wonder, an African queen. The one I knew only existed in the confines of my dream. I kept my gaze on her uttering no words as her presence bewitched the air I breath leaving me in a state of sheer ecstasy. My watch showed the passing of seconds but my mind was on the tracks of eternity. She spoke first blending her words with a sinister edge “who are you?” My lips formed words even before my brains could hear, I heard myself say “I am the knight you’ve been searching for.

A menacing giggle escaped her lips, knocking me off tracks but my tongue was so drenched in honey for me to utter any reply. I stared at her dumbfounded searching for words that seemed stuck somewhere along my windpipe. With a roll of her eyes she turned to leave, jolted, I ask “do you believe in fairy tales?” She shook her head like I had gone bonkers. So, I smile and rephrased “do you believe in love at first sight?” she looked at me bewildered as to what was I getting at.

Sanguinely, I looked deep into her captivating eyes as black poetry flowed of my lips.

“my heart reeks of ache, an intense ache for you from the first moment you invaded my dreams.

I smell a blend of insanity in my emotions as my heart is drawn to yours like a magnet

Your presence is like breath, avail me a chance to steal your heart as your absence suffocates me.

My mind reels around the dream of tasting your exquisiteness, my thought borders on romantic madness.

We are meant to fall, cause you’re my proof that love at first sight exists!”

She stood still for seconds, I scrutinised her with my heart caught in my throat. Suddenly, I felt a pain like that of a hundred pins flare on my cheeks. The sound of her slap created stun waves that swept mosquitos off their currents and petrified ants as the quake rode through every molecule of air in the room. My brain cells ran like frenzied animals trying hard to reason as her hand mapped my cheeks and redirected all the thought streams in my mind. Like expended echo necks turned in enquiry but the confusion in my eyes gave them no replies.

I wasn’t the man of her dreams as she was mine, I wasn’t the right height she screamed. She complained that my muscles couldn’t ripple when stretched and I couldn’t provide the six packs chest she loved to lay on. She spewed angered chants that I wasn’t handsome or good enough for her. I watched mouth agape as she plunged her words of hate deep into my heart.

I fell from love’s crag as her beauty sharp as cut glass was the honeycomb that shoved me off the edge. I without a safety net fell hastily from the crag of my love filled heart and descended to the dark brown rubbles of heartbreak waiting to receive the splatter that remained.

Reward of a dreamer who casted his dream net too close to the sun. Liar, you who stole the belief of fairy tales from my reality and opened my eyes to the realism of the sting in myths. Creator of a million tears, you who swept many away with your flood of deceit. You who tossed me off the cliff of blinded love into the carcases of the virgin devourer, I am but your latest victim.

--

--

Tomiwa Onaleye
Hoblife
Editor for

I write experiences that scream to be expressed, to trap beauty and priceless moments so it isn’t lost to time.