Lack of Energy? It's a Choice.

James T. Stockton
HofTalk
Published in
2 min readJul 23, 2016
Credit: Chappelle Show

My friends and I make plenty of jokes about the dreaded 3–0. It’s a fact, there’s less energy available. Recovery takes longer. Time and effort must be managed because resources get depleted and there is no longer all the time in the world.

But here’s the other truth. I can summon the energy whenever the hell I need it or want it. With more experience I know better how to get what I seek through managing my dietary intake, sleep, meditation, and other manipulation of my bodily state.

Tonight some friends asked if I wanted to go to the bar to play darts and drink a few more beers. I said I didn’t have the energy and lamented this for a moment. But I thought about the wedding weekends with barely any sleep where I felt like I couldn’t be stopped. I realized the only difference was how badly I wanted to summon the energy.

It’s easy to use age or tiredness or other obligations as an excuse when we don’t feel like recruiting our nervous system to do what we want. But never forget… whether it’s a celebration, a work assignment, or getting a project off the ground that no one else believes in, the performance level you’re looking for is attainable. Its how bad you wanna make it happen.

--

--