Once Upon Ubud

Bintang Rahmadi
Hoi Bintang
Published in
3 min readMar 19, 2017

Saturday morning, Bali wore a gloomy grey suit after a week of sunshine and blue . A sense of nostalgia strikes me , I remember strolling around Ubud with my friend Aini in the middle of Fasting month after a week of road trip from Malang to Bali almost three years ago. The urge to re-kindle this fragments of memory leads me to one gloomy afternoon in Ubud, with my old blue motorcycle and fragments of memory I found my way to Ubud.

Crowded and Narrow Ubud Market
A shopkeeper doing her daily offering

The landscape of this peaceful town hasn’t changed much from what I remembered three years ago, besides the soft ice cream shop that We visited in the evening near Hanoman street has changed into a small boutique and a small souvenir shop at the end of the street where my friend buy a cheap waterproof sport watch has changed into a Wakai store. But the rest are still the same, same vegan restaurant and homestay side by side at both side of the street, same busy market, same narrow road, different scene yet same feelings

Groups of Elementary School students after school hour

Revisiting travel memories in person, is like opening a slightly deformed time capsule. It opens up nostalgic moments and scene yet subtle changes also take places. But those subtle changes makes you remember, what has it been like the last time you were here?.

Campuhan Ridge Walk

--

--