A Good Burger, with the Worse Service

SimplyAlex
Hole in the Wall
Published in
3 min readMar 20, 2016
Chili Cheese Fries

The Shack in Kailua was one of the first decent burgers I had after I moved here and as you’ll see those will be few and far between. Despite this being one of the few good burgers I have stumbled discovered the service here was beyond horrible, to the point where I nearly have zero desire to go back.

Before I complain about the service I’ll take some time to highlight the food. We started off our meal with an order of chili cheese fries. The chili, although not the traditional chili I’m use to having on fries was OK. It had a lot of beans and large slices of red onions. It could have used a little more cheese a little more salt, but overall it wasn’t a horrible appetizer.

Swiss and Shroom

For the burgers we ordered the “Swiss and Shroom” burger and their Ruben burger. Both were good, and beautiful to look at, with a good amount of toppings. I will say although the “shroom” was nice and cheesy, the pastrami and thousand island dressing on the Ruben put it over the top and made it the clear winner between the two burgers. As with the fries, the beef could have used a little more seasoning, but I’ve learned in my 6 or so months here I have learned that’s an ongoing problem at local restaurants.

To drink I had a lava flow. For those of you who have not been to Hawaii and don’t know what a lava flow is, it is essentially a pina colada with strawberry sauce. The Shack in Kailua is one of the best lava flows I have had so far. Most places add too much strawberry and over mix making the drink too sweet and very artificial tasting. The Shack delivered a beautiful drink well balanced. The strawberry flavoring was not too sweet or artificial tasting and they did not add so much as to overpower the wonderful taste of a pina colada.

Ruben Burger

Now for the bad. Although we went on a Saturday afternoon, the place was not too crowded and clearly well staffed yet. We had to wait way too long for everything and our waitress never paid attention to us. Once she took our orders and delivered our food she was done attending to us. My boyfriend ran out of soda before he was halfway through his burger yet never got a refill, although he did try to get our waitress’s attention many times. Not once did she check to see if I wanted a refill on my lava flow. By the time we finally got her attention we just wanted our check. She didn’t ask if we’d like to order anything or needed refills, not even a box. It took her over 10 minutes to get us our check.

Although a part of me would like to give the food another shot, I never want to deal with service like this again.

The Shack — Kailua

1051 Keolu Dr

Kailua, HI 96734

Hours: Mon-Thurs 11am-11pm / Fri & Sat 11am-Midnight / Sun 11am-10pm

Like this:

Like Loading…

Related

Tags: Cheeseburger, Hawaii, Kailua HI, Oahu, Pina Colada, The Shack, Windward

Originally published at holeinthewalleating.wordpress.com on March 20, 2016.

--

--