Murphy’s Bar & Grill

SimplyAlex
Hole in the Wall
Published in
2 min readJun 3, 2016
Corned Beef and Cabbage

My fiancé and I ended up at Murphy’s Bar & Grill one night, simply because we were desperate for something new. (Despite being a huge fan of Diner’s Drive-Ins, and Dives, I had no clue Murphy’s had been featured. ) He’s a fan of microwave shepherd’s pie and my family always makes corned beef and cabbage on St. Patrick’s day, but we had never been to an Irish restaurant. Murphy’s wasn’t the best choice for a first experience.

Shepherd’s Pie

Walking into Murphy’s it was cute, very welcoming and very clean, but nothing like we imagined. That can easily be over looked and didn’t factor into my disappointment with this place. Our server was fast, friendly, and attentive. All of my disappointment comes from the food.

Potato Skins

We started off our meal with potato skins. They were cheesy. They were cheesy and that is all I can say about them. The portions were small, the potatoes were burnt and sour cream became the saving grace of the dish. Not a good thing usually.

I ordered their corned beef and cabbage with mixed veggies and mashed potatoes. I LOVE corned beef and cabbage. Salty, fatty, flavorful, it is normally amazing. This corned beef however was try and tasteless. The cabbage was minimal. The veggies were under seasoned and the mashed potatoes were over whipped.

My fiancé decided to get their shepherd’s pie. He was happy with the flavor of the meat, but the potatoes were grainy and unpleasant to eat.

I’m torn on whether I’ll be giving Murphy’s another try.

Murphy’s Bar & Grill

2 Merchant St

Honolulu, HI 96813

Hours: Mon-Fri 11am-2am / Sat & Sun 4pm-2am

Like this:

Like Loading…

Related

Tags: Corned Beef and Cabbage, DDD, Diner’s Drive-In and Dives, Hawaii, Irish, Potato Skins, Pub, shepherd’s pie

Originally published at holeinthewalleating.wordpress.com on June 3, 2016.

--

--