My Experience with The Baker & Butcher

SimplyAlex
Hole in the Wall
Published in
3 min readMay 10, 2016

My experience with The Baker & Butcher has been just that, an experience. I work right across the street from their store front and had them bookmarked on my Yelp for weeks to try, but never got around to it, until I booked them to work at this year’s BBB Torch Awards. I figured if they are going to serving guests at an event I was working, I should know what I’m feeding our guests.

For my first go round with The Baker & The Butcher I ordered their Butcher’s Cut Sandwich, which is Beef Au Poivre, roasted shiitake, cognac aioli, and slow cooked onion. I hated it. I was expecting a hot, at least room temperature, sandwich and this was cold. I felt like it was loaded down with condiments and lacked flavor. My first thought was, “Crap, how do I give them a bad review? I have to work with them!”

The following week I had my first face to face meeting with the owner and was taken aback by how kind he was and the passion in his words when he spoke about his food and what they were producing. Again, “Crap, how do I give them a bad review? They are nice and passionate about food.” The next week I decided I needed to try them again.

The following week I ordered their Pork Tenderloin Banh Mi, black garlic aioli, pickled root vegetables, and cilantro. Now it is not the same experience as eating a traditional Banh Mi, but the flavors are there and it was quite good. The sandwich left me hungry, so maybe not worth the nearly $8 it cost, but it was a sandwich I could enjoy.

A few weeks later we held our Torch Awards and The Baker & Butcher fed our guests before the actually awards ceremony. During the award ceremony the BBB staff got to chose between enjoying lunch from one of our two caterers. For some strange reason I found myself craving The Baker & Butcher, so that’s who I went with.

The Butcher’s Cut

They had a Baker’s Cut, along with other sandwich options, but I wanted to give it a second chance, this time knowing what I would be getting. That made all the difference. The sandwich worked perfectly. The condiments worked well with the bread they use and the mushrooms and meat were excellent. Although I began hating their sandwiches, I now find myself craving them and I cannot wait to sink my teeth into some of their backed goods.

The Baker & Butcher

1111 Bishop St, Ste 112

Honolulu, HI 96813

Hours: Mon-Fri 6:30am-3pm / Closed Sat & Sun

Like this:

Like Loading…

Related

Originally published at holeinthewalleating.wordpress.com on May 10, 2016.

--

--