Five of the most romantic love letters from famous people

Office Supplies Supermarket
Holidays and Occasions
3 min readMar 22, 2015

--

Love truly is a strong and powerful emotion that transcends distance and also differences in religion, culture and status. Here are five of the most heartfelt declarations of passion from well-known personalities in history:

Henry VIII to Anne Boleyn (1527): “I beg to know expressly your intention touching the love between us. Necessity compels me to obtain this answer, having been more than a year wounded by the dart of love, and not yet sure whether I shall fail or find a place in your affection.” The temperamental monarch widely reputed to be a ladies’ man certainly knew how to make them sigh!

Napoleon Bonaparte to his wife Josephine (17 July 1796): “Since I left you, I have been constantly depressed. My happiness is to be near you. Incessantly I live over in my memory your caresses, your tears, your affectionate solicitude. The charms of the incomparable Josephine kindle continually a burning and a glowing flame in my heart. When, free from all solicitude, all harassing care, shall I be able to pass all my time with you, having only to love you, and to think only of the happiness of so saying, and of proving it to you?” Who knew a man considered to be a ruthless leader and brave soldier would also have a tender side?

British PM Winston Churchill to his wife Clementine (23 January 1935): “My darling Clemmie, in your letter from Madras you wrote some words very dear to me, about having enriched your life. I cannot tell you what pleasure this gave me, because I always feel so overwhelmingly in your debt, if there can be accounts in love…What it has been to me to live all these years in your heart and companionship no phrases can convey.” Even busy heads of state do find the time to make a loved one feel special from halfway across the world.

Charles Darwin to his fiancée Emma Wedgwood, (several days before their marriage in 29 January 1839): “How I do hope you shall be happy as I know I shall be. My own dearest Emma, I earnestly pray, you may never regret the great and I will add very good, deed you are to perform on the Tuesday: my own dear future wife, God bless you…” The esteemed scientist drew much inspiration for his work from his relationship with his wife and children.

Richard Burton to Elizabeth Taylor (early part of their first wedding in 1964): “My blind eyes are desperately waiting for the sight of you. You don’t realize of course, E.B., how fascinatingly beautiful you have always been, and how strangely you have acquired an added and special and dangerous loveliness.” Ah, what sweet words wouldn’t convince a girl to marry (and divorce!) the same man twice over?

Can any email or text message ever beat that?

If you feel up to the challenge of making someone swoon today, write your love letter with a reliable pen that’s quick drying, easy on the grip, and has water and light-resistant ink to ensure the object of your tender affections get to cherish them for a long time.

View our selection of quality retractable and non-retractable pens at http://www.theofficesuppliessupermarket.com/attribute/paper-mate

This article originally appeared in:

http://www.theofficesuppliessupermarket.com/articles/five-of-the-most-romantic-love-letters-from-famous-people

--

--

Office Supplies Supermarket
Holidays and Occasions

http://t.co/C9vmGZh8t1 deliver office supplies throughout the UK. Visit our website today to see how much we can save you.