From asthma to marathon — A personal story of overcoming asthma through running.

Holistic Monster
Holistic Health Publication
8 min readJul 2, 2023

There is never a reason not to dream and not to try. It took me 7 years and it changed my life for the better.

Photo by Emma Simpson on Unsplash

I no longer wanted to be a bystander and let asthma control my life by limiting the activities I could enjoy.

I was diagnosed with asthma as a baby. Growing up I remember I hated asthma, I refused to accept I was limited. I saw it as a personal challenge, something I had to fight. I strongly believed it should not define me and my life choices. But it always knocked me down again.

For some reason which I don’t understand to this day, I hated taking my inhaler and stubbornly refused to take it unless I felt I was dying! I realise now how this must have been quite stressful for my parents and I greatly appreciate them allowing me to make my own decisions. Their understanding, trust and support was invaluable.

By around 14 years old my perspective of asthma was that my lungs were exceptionally unfit. Like many asthma sufferers, mine was primarily triggered by exercise. So I decided to ‘get fit’. I knew this was going to be a long journey but I no longer wanted to be a bystander and let asthma control my life by limiting the activities I could enjoy.

I decided to start running — it was an exercise fully in my control. I chose a route of around a mile which included up and down hills. Every morning I woke up 40 min earlier in order to complete this route before breakfast. Looking back now, I realise how motivated I was. I never skipped a day — rain, snow, pitch black freezing winter mornings, I was out the door with our family dog at 6.20am!

I know what you are thinking, how could you run a mile with asthma?? Well I couldn’t. Some days I would manage a hundred meters and walk the rest. Maybe stumble downhill on the way home. Winters were the worst as breathing in cold air triggered my asthma much quicker.

I believed that my overreactive lungs could get used to the idea of heavy breathing and stop overreacting. And I wanted to train them by not taking my inhaler. So I started to find the right balance of pushing myself enough so that my lungs were challenged, but not too much that I would still be suffering from an asthma attack by the time we had to go to school (my parents would get worried).

Every day is a new day I told myself. And I did this for 6 years straight.

I think I stuck to the 1 mile route for 4 years and then started to increase it until I reached a 3 mile route. Even after 4 years I would still have bad days, especially if it was cold, foggy or if there was chimney smoke. But for the most part, after 4 years my lungs no longer overreacted to this small level of exercise.

Marathon Training

At 20 years old I signed up for the London Marathon and got a place with the charity Asthma UK. My mission was to run a marathon without an inhaler, as a personal proof that I had overcome my asthma. I had never run anything longer than 3 miles at that point.

I followed a 40 week training programme designed for beginners. I was working fulltime with an 1.5 hour train commute each way so did weekday runs at the gym after work and weekend runs in my hometown on the hills.

Of course, the sharp increase in miles run per week was extremely challenging, but this time for a different body part. To my surprise my lungs were holding up just fine. At about week 34 I was diagnosed with shin splints and was told I need to stop running if I want any chance of running the marathon.

At this point my longest run was 18 miles. The training program suggests you complete a marathon about 3 weeks before your race (mainly for the psychological aspect of knowing you can do it) and then taper down to recover.

Instead I spent the next 6 weeks swimming, cycling and doing some strength training. I think I did a 10 mile run a week before the marathon, and my shins were fine. So I decided to go.

I didn’t challenge my lungs for 7 years just to give up because my shins couldn’t take it!

Race Day

I had only ever been to London as a tourist and for a couple of conferences. Now I was going on my own, staying in a colleagues apartment, running a marathon I did not know I could complete, then heading home just to go back to work on Monday.

Photo by Miguel A Amutio on Unsplash

London marathon starts in Greenwich park. There are around 40000 runners plus supporters plus staff. Needless to say the park is crowded!

I still remember one of the tips was to bring a fleece or something warm to wear which you can throw away when you start running. I had bought an old fleece in a second hand shop and definitely appreciated having it for all the waiting time. I still felt so bad throwing it by the side of the road.

The first mile was bliss. I was swept along by the crowd of enthusiastic runners and felt so light and free. I realised about mile 3 that I had been pushing too hard and I needed to pace myself. The crowd started thinning so I settled into my own pace.

The first low point was at Tower Bridge, which is about the half way mark. I remember thinking, ‘I’ll just walk across the bridge, I can’t run anymore. Why did I run so fast at the beginning.’

I tried to walk, but when you have been running for a couple of hours walking is more painful than continuing to run. So I continued running.

Another top tip was to put your name on your top. Although I thought it was ridiculous I did it, and it was the best decision. There were times when I was exhausted, just focusing on putting one foot in front of the other, and I would hear someone yelling my name, encouraging me to continue. It really gives you a kick.

Another low point was coming out from under Blackfriars bridge — you can see Big Bed and the London Eye and the end seems so close. Yet you have over 3 miles to go. I was struggling on the slight incline up to the Embankment and a stranger yells ‘Come on Evaleen! You can do it!’ I want to thank this guy, he gave me the courage to keep running those final 3 miles, which I think were the hardest I have ever run.

Richard Branson almost tripped me up!

It was the first Virgin London marathon — i.e. sponsored by Richard Branson. And he was running dressed as a butterfly. I didn’t really care about this, the marathon was about my journey. However, at one point the famous butterfly almost tripped me up! He had stopped at the side to speak to some reporters I guess and then cut me off as he joined the runners again. He turned around and apologised and then continued running when he realised I was okay and still on my two feet. He finished the race 10 minutes before me.

I finished in 5 hours and 12 minutes.

They give you a medal and bag of goodies when you cross the finish line. That granny smith apple was the tastiest I have ever eaten. To this day I salivate at the memory of the first bite! Then I ate a mars bar. And then everything else that was edible in that bag.

Public transport was free for all marathon runners — I have never felt more proud than making my way across London by public transport, with jelly legs, and being congratulated at every tube station and let through for free!

I got back to the apartment and took a cold bath — the best equivalent to an ice bath when you don’t have ice. It was at this point that all the emotions came out. I cried.

And then I realised that I had to pack all my stuff and cross London again to catch my train home. I was exhausted and didn’t feel I had the energy anymore. I called home in tears. Back then there was no Uber, no smart phone to find a taxi number to call. So my brother organised a taxi for me which was a life saver! I made it to the train in the nick of time.

I didn’t take the Monday off work because it was a work event I had spent months organising. I remember I had to climb so many steps and it was so painful! Especially going down steps.

Top tip, walk backwards down steps — its much less painful!

Conclusion

So what about asthma? I ran the marathon without any asthma symptoms. So did running all these years cure my asthma? Well, yes and no. Since then exercise has never been a trigger for me, so yes it cured this. I did however suffer from dust as a trigger, but over the years even this has become less severe. My last asthma attach was about 8 years ago.

After the marathon I continued to run daily for many years, worried that if I stop, my asthma would resume. But since then I have also pursued many other sports to a capacity I never thought I would be able to, because of my asthma.

I remember reading that there are two types of people running a marathon, one timers and marathoners — those who can’t stop. So far I fall in the one timer category, but I would like to run long distance again. I think I’m more of a trail runner now though.

The following year I moved to London to go to University and I went to support the marathon every year. Having supporters literally every foot of the way really makes a difference for runners. The energy is unbelievable.

Running has a very special place in my heart. It is meditative, grounding, and a sport of solitude and reflection. It gave me wings. It gave me faith in my body. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

xx

--

--

Holistic Monster
Holistic Health Publication

A little monster when it comes to holistic health - well intended but sometimes a little fiery