Getting Off the Starting Blocks

AudreyRose Wooden
HollaDay
Published in
7 min readFeb 8, 2021

--

DEFINING OURSELVES

Devin Johnson (MIT ’22) joined us for a candid conversation around community building in Boston. From the first words out of his mouth, “I don’t have an answer to this question,” you could tell he leads from within and prides himself on open and honest communication. But also as a good leader does, he gives us the opportunity to explore the possibilities together. So even though when he began he shared he was unsure of “the purpose of my life and me being here,” by the end of our conversation we had a clear picture of his capacity to understand so much more through the love he has for his people.

Who are you?

Devin Johnson: Before I got to college I didn’t do much, my focus was only on two things: school and track. So when I got here and had a chance to become more introspective, I had to figure out what I actually enjoyed spending my time doing. So outside of the things I do, I think what really makes me happy is spending time with other people. Freshman and Sophomore year I got involved in a whole bunch of things. I gravitated to spaces where I could help, if it’s helping one person or if it’s helping a bunch of people through an organization, that’s where I want to be and that’s where I’m most comfortable.

“if it’s helping one person or if it’s helping a bunch of people through an organization, that’s where I want to be”

The HollaDay: What has finding this comfort allowed you to do?

D: As I’ve focused on myself over the past two or three years I’ve seen growth in my ability to be there for people. I see it in my friendships, I see it in my romantic relationships, it’s central to who I am.

H: And what does “being there for others” look like for you?

D: I’d put their needs ahead of mine because it pleased me to see them happy and taken care of. For my efforts or advice to improve someone’s day or week or life, that’s why I do it.

D: I think Devin Johnson is someone who is there for others.

What do you do?

Devin became a student leader from the moment he stepped on campus. Seizing every opportunity for more involvement he served on the Freshman Committee for MIT-NSBE, Caribbean Club Executive Board, and as the 2019–2020 Attorney General of the MIT Black Students’ Union. Currently he is the Social Chair for MIT Class of 2022 Class Council, Senior CoChair of Chocolate City, and a member of the Beta Alpha Chapter of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Incorporated. He is also still a member of the MIT-NSBE chapter as well as Sakata Afrique, MIT’s only Afro-Caribbean Dance group. This is all to say with a hefty resume in community involvement like this there is no question that Devin walks his own intentional path toward revealing his purpose.

How has COVID-19 impacted your work?

Holding multiple leadership roles in cultural organizations as the pandemic hit and taking on new roles during this time, Devin shares with us his perspective on the struggles we have all encountered. He shares with us that his CoChairship for Chocolate City was “one of the biggest leadership commitments I’ve done to date because of all it requires of me.” Though Chocolate City’s brotherhood has mainly thrived off of physical proximity — living with each other, being with each other every day — when the pandemic struck there needed to be something else holding them all together. It can be difficult to think about how to reinvent a wheel that has been running for 45, going on 50 years. Finding ways to preserve traditions, stay true to their mission, and enter into something that is so unprecedented is a daunting task many student leaders had to take on overnight.

Devin mentioned the struggles of virtual community building. Working to engage his members he had to think about “how do we keep people together in this time when no one even wants to be on zoom.” Not only did he have to change his approach to activities but he also had to change how he assessed what would be best for his community. Reaching out to individuals and checking on their personal health, how they’re doing emotionally, physically, mentally and then going on to see if they have any suggestions on how to improve and come together as a community. Again, with organizations built on the foundation of being in the same physical space, challenges were quick to show themselves when you couldn’t knock on someone’s door or just stumble across them in the lounge. They had to learn to be more intentional in their community-building and be more understanding of what drives individuals.

He also offered how his work with Chocolate City has helped in being prepared for the work of his Fraternity. He was sure to make it clear that it was a different circumstance because now the work was bigger than the Brotherhood, he also has to focus on the community around him and outside of him. But through listening to alumni and current chapter members he’s been able to take his skills and begin to adapt. The process of learning and doing all at the same time is hard but necessary work, and something Devin reminded us of. It takes a lot of creativity and effort but ultimately we’re looking to give everyone something they feel they’ve actually benefited from. And Devin begs us all to think outside of the box, “I’m TIRED of game nights.”

BOSTON

What brought you to Boston?

Devin’s journey to Boston came from his college options his senior year of high school. Deciding between his current institution and another school on the West Coast he took the admitted students’ weekends to see what campus was like and figure out what mattered most to him. He shared with us that he’s a big family person, so ultimately his decision to come to Boston had a lot to do with how close it was to his home in New York. Without hesitation Devin told us “it was important for me to be able to pop up for birthdays and celebrations. If I was on the west coast FOMO would be hitting crazy.”

What has your experience been like?

Thankfully his decision was a good one because Devin said his experience has been “pretty amazing!” When he was younger and the 2012 Doomsday conspiracy was rampant his biggest fear was that he would die before getting to come to college. Now that he’s here “I’m really glad I made it here because this experience has been something I wouldn’t have wanted to miss out on.” It wouldn’t be accurate or fair to paint the picture as all sunshine and rainbows because it’s extremely difficult but he says he’s also met people that have changed and improved his life. He’s grown so much as a person through all of the fun moments, learning moments, and even the sad moments.

He said he’s grateful to have met friends he’ll have for a lifetime he wouldn’t give up for the world. They talk about the trips they’ll take after graduation or whose kids they want their kids to be friends with. A beautiful community has formed and Devin is happy to imagine a future with them. He’s excited to see where the world will take them all, describing that “this is the starting block to my life. I’ve been around for 18 years but I was on autopilot. This is where I start to take control and lead myself to where I wanna go and who I wanna be.”

HOLLA!

How do you keep moving?

D: I make short goals or deadlines. Like I just have to make it here, it’ll be okay, keep your mind strong and get through this.

H: Where did you learn to set goals like that?

D: A lot of things my coach told me impacted how I see the world. Pushing all the way to the finish line, Imma speed up till there, Imma speed up till there, make your last one your best one, etc. I learned I needed to finish strong no matter what I’m doing. The semester? Strong. A program? Strong. Seeing the results in the end, you hate it while you’re doing it but love it after it’s done.

How do you define Black joy?

D: It can mean a bunch of different things. On the individual level, when you experience triumph or something good happens in your life, I’m happy to see another Black person living a good life. Out of all the stuff that’s out there against us, I’m always happy to see you prosper.

D: Then on a community level it looks like every small win where an issue is lessened or stopped. Like advances in diversity at our schools or if a BSU gets all of their recommendations implemented. Celebrating those policy wins is Black joy.

D: Lastly, it’s just a vibe. Black people get together and there could be a whole bunch of mess going on around us but there’s this feeling where you forget everything that’s going on. You feel safe and comfortable with each other and you feel genuinely happy. At school, parties, after parties, you can feel happy and safe within your community in a way you can’t with anyone else in any other situation. That feeling of peace, even if it’s temporary — put a sticker on it, Black joy!

Our conversation with Devin was a true pleasure. He reminded us of the power we have to choose. We’re so thankful for him and the work he does in our community — now and in the future. Follow him on IG (@devin.elevenn) to keep up with what he’s doing!

Follow @holladay.xxi on IG for more student and community leader spotlights

--

--

AudreyRose Wooden
HollaDay
0 Followers
Editor for

creative. she/her/hers. it’s one word, no space, no hyphen, capital R.