About Hollie Harper INK

OK Here I go

Hollie Harper
Hollie Harper INK
2 min readFeb 24, 2018

--

Hollie Harper loves to write.

Uh huh?…so….what’s up with #YesIAmThatMom ?

Somewhere in between changing diapers and jetting off to rehearsal for the sketch comedy AMERICAN CANDY I exec-produce….my brain starting ticking.

And things started clicking

  • I write sketch comedy for AMERICAN CANDY (We just KILLED at the 2018 Chicago Sketch Comedy Festival)
  • I write for #BlerdDating, an excellent Twitter chat I produce with its creator Leesa Dean
  • I write musical comedy — 2 BAM Cafe shows, 2 Dope Queens (at its incubator show at Union Hall), BRIC Stoop Show
  • And I write rom-coms (Someone SAVE Rom Coms!!!)

But it was the GRAND DAME, Erma Bombeck who stayed with me.

Her VOICE

That MOM VOICE…hilarious with the crazy ups and downs of raising sticky, little, adorable, money grubbing people, that’s stayed with me all these years.

So yeah, like every other parent on the planet, I really dig my kids.

So #YesIamThatMom

I am that mom that makes her kids dance for snacks

I am that mom that will cuss out the dentist for being rude to her daughter

I am that mom that will make a whole subway car sing “Happy Birthday” to her son

I am that mom that tells her daughter to run for class secretary and shake everyone’s hand at recess

I am that mom raising a whip smart son on the spectrum, toughing it out like so many out there

I am that mom that puts on two bras to show her daughter how to do the “Running Man”

#YesIAmThatMom

And through raising kids and watching very closely…they’ve helped me “grow up” all over again

And it’s never easy

  • BELOW is a Q & A I did with my daughter Luna for “THE AND”… Series

I dig my kids. I dig raising kids …and I write about it

I hope you follow me

I hope you follow Hollie Harper INK.

--

--

Hollie Harper
Hollie Harper INK

Creative Director. I’m a writer, I act, I dig my kids, I talk a lot of smack, #YesIAmThatMom, Twitter @hollieharper5, fb-Hollie Harper (the black one!)