This one’s a little techy.

Holly Valenty
HollsMarie
Published in
3 min readFeb 15, 2018

So I’m definitely in a bit over my head.

But don’t worry, that’s right where I’m supposed to be.

According to this article on Coderbyte by Daniel Borowski, learning ONE SINGLE FULL STACK means you are learning:

  1. HTML/CSS (What every web page is rendered in, and the building blocks of the web)
  2. JavaScript (A language that is popular in both front-end, back-end, and full-stack development)
  3. A Back-End Language (SQL, Java, JavaScript, C#, Python, C++, PHP, iOS, Ruby, etc)
  4. Databases and Web Storage (How you store data to access later)
  5. HTTP & Rest (What allows clients to communicate with servers)
  6. Web Application and Architecture (TBD….haven’t gotten here yet)
  7. GIT (Allows you to keep track of all the changes being made to a codebase)
  8. Basic Algorithms and Data Structure (What scared the crap out of me the first two weeks)

So the above is 1 full stack. And at Coding Dojo…

“We teach three full stacks to help ensure that you are prepared to work at every different level of the development process — from front-end to back-end to data storage. Unlike coding schools that only teach one full stack, our curriculum gives you the versatility you’ll need to land that dream job as a software developer.” — codingdojo.com

This was all over the website as I applied. I told people, other developers, our (TIY) instructors and alumni, that I would be learning three full stacks. I knew what I was getting into.

But here’s the thing….

I didn’t.

I 1000% did not fully grasp the depth of all of the information I would be trying to comprehend. And also cram into my brain.

Yet here I am. In the middle of Chicago, and on week 4 of the Coding Dojo On-Site Bootcamp. Almost 1/3rd of the way through. And learning my first Full Stack, Python. I’m working with servers, and databases, and virtual environments, and lots of other things I could barely comprehend about a month ago. I probably didn’t even know some of these things existed.

And after I finish learning the Python stack, I have to do this two more times, to learn the C# and MEAN stacks.

I’m spending about 60 hrs a week doing school work, both on and off campus. And it is increasing little by little every week. And I’m still loving it.

It’s incredibly challenging, and there are some days where I wake up, and its 17 degrees out, and I realllllly don’t want to get out of bed. But I do it, because this is what I signed up for, and I want to prove to myself and the world that I can do it.

If snowed in and stir crazy, then go to closest Starbucks. (Also a code joke).

In other news:

  • I am slowly ticking things off of my Chicago bucket list. These things are mostly food.
  • I walked in fresh fallen snow for the first time and also got “snowed-in” for the first time.
  • I had my first school-canceling snow day.
  • And have yet to slip on the ice!

Little victories.

I accidentally found Wicker Park! Kind of.
White boarding routes, databases, and SQL queries in pair programming. We had to take over another whiteboard in addition to this.
This guy hates me, but how cute is this?!

--

--

Holly Valenty
HollsMarie

Full-Stack Developer and Tech Education Enthusiast.