Bucharest. The City-Me.

Roxana Bacian {prev Iacob}
Home in Dialogue
Published in
11 min readApr 16, 2019

Home in Dialogue is a collective storytelling platform led and written by those with personal experiences of migration: leaving, returning and the in between. We speak to Alina Cristea who lives in Belgium and regularly visits Bucharest. She speals about her project ‘Bucharest. The City with One Inhabitant. The City-Me’ which combines photography and geocriticism.

‘Can you bear it any longer in this country, miss?’ by Alina Cristea

When and how did you decide to leave Romania?/ Când te-ai decis să pleci din țară și cum s-a întâmplat asta?

My decision to leave Romania was mostly catalysed by my curiosity to study abroad but also by my mom’s move to Belgium the year before. It was the organic accumulation of a handful of circumstances: graduating, which came with a feeling of closure which allowed me to look for the next thing; an acute feeling I didn’t fit well with the people around me, and I hadn’t found my place among them for years, as well as the fact I didn’t feel particularly tied to Romania. When it came to friendships — the one thing that could have held me back, it never crossed my mind they could dilute or deteriorate due to the distance. My destination and studies in the following year were mostly determined by my mom’s choices and her move to Belgium. I was just curious so to see something else, and if mom hadn’t chosen Belgium, I would have probably ended up in Germany.

[ro]

Decizia de a pleca din țară a fost mai degrabă declanșată de curiozitatea de a studia în străinătate, dar și de plecarea mamei mele din țară, cu un an înaintea mea. A fost cumva întâlnirea organică a mai multor circumstanțe: absolvirea de la facultate, care a venit și cu sentimentul că aveam lucrurile încheiate în țară și că puteam privi către altundeva; sentimentul pregnant că nu mă potriveam cu oamenii din jurul meu și de ani de zile nu îmi găseam locul printre ei; faptul că nu mă simțeam legată de România, în mod particular. În ceea ce privește relațiile de prietenie, care ar fi putut fi un motiv de a ezita, nu mi-a trecut niciodată prin minte că s-ar putea dilua sau deteriora, din cauza distanței. Destinația și ceea ce am studiat în anul următor au fost lucruri mai degrabă determinate de alegerile mamei și de faptul că ea a ales Belgia. Eu eram doar curioasă să văd orice altceva și, dacă mama nu s-ar fi mutat în Belgia, probabil aș fi ajuns în Germania.

‘Autoportret’ by Alina Cristea

When did you start coming back regularly? How did this happen and why is it important for you to come back?/ Când ai început să vii regulat în România? Cum s-a întâmplat asta și de ce este important pentru tine să revii?

In April 2015 I came back to Romania together with my mom and my sister. It had been one year and a half since I had last visited. We all met up at my grandmother’s to celebrate the Orthodox Easter. I was studying in Prague at the time.

That’s when I was completely taken by surprise by how much Bucharest had changed: new shops and buildings, the constantly multiplying bars and cafes in the Old Town and an increase in foreign visitors. All of a sudden, it was common to hear English, French, German and even Dutch on the streets. As the writer Filip Florian mentioned in an interview with Andreea Rasuceanu: these small details and our change in perception happen only when you spend at least six months away from home. All these details accumulate to create a remarkable novelty, becoming as significant to you as they are completely ignored by those who confront them on a daily basis. During my next visit in Bucharest, in the fall of the same year, I experienced a radical change in how I saw Bucharest and my distancing from it, everything Romanian and personal.

In the next few years followed an accelerated and radical change — in my perception now, but which in reality was probably much slower, as I was only visiting Romania twice a year. Bucharest, a place unknown to many I met during my travels and a source of shame for me — in comparison to those from Germany, Sweden and France, seemed to bring upon me only assumptions that I was a European citizen of inferior quality. With time and thanks to my project on Bucharest, through which I investigate my relationship with the city, of locals with their own city and how they influence each other but also Bucharest’s representation in literature; and by doing so constantly reflecting on the various dynamics: me abroad, me in Bucharest, I’m becoming more and more curious about the specifics of my identity and how I can define it through exploring the city I’m from. Bucharest is known by too few at an international and even local level, and I want to change that, at least in the domains I work in.

[ro]

Am venit în țară cu mama și sora mea, în aprilie 2015, ceea ce pentru mine însemna o pauză de un an și jumătate de la ultima vizită. Ne-am întâlnit toate la bunica, să sărbătorim Paștele Ortodox, eu studiind în Praga în perioada respectivă.

Atunci am fost complet surprinsă de cât se schimbase Bucureștiul — magazine și clădiri noi, înmulțirea barurilor și cafenelelor din Centrul Vechi, care, între timp, a devenit o constantă, dar și faptul că au apărut mulți străini. Dintr-odată, a devenit comun să aud engleza, franceza, germana și, chiar olandeza pe stradă. Așa cum remarca scriitorul Filip Florian într-un interviu cu Andreea Răsuceanu: detaliile astea mărunte și schimbările de percepție se întâmplă numai când petreci cel puțin șase luni departe de casă. Toate detaliile astea se acumulează și par de o noutate remarcabilă, devin semnificative pentru tine, așa cum sunt complet ignorate de cei care se confruntă cu ele zilnic. La următoarea venire în București, în toamna aceluiași an, s-a petrecut și o schimbare radicala în felul în care percepeam Bucureștiul și distanțarea mea de el, de tot ce era Românesc și personal.

În următorii câțiva ani — în percepția actuală — a urmat o schimbare accelerată și radicală, care, probabil, în realitate, a fost mult mai lentă, ținând cont că veneam doar de maximum două ori pe an, în țară. Bucureștiul, un loc necunoscut de cei mai mulți pe care îi întâlneam în călătorii și o sursă de rușine pentru mine — în comparație cu alți colegi din Germania, Suedia, Franța, părea să-mi aducă numai asumpții de cetățean European de categorie inferioară. Cu timpul și datorită proiectului meu despre București, în care investighez relația mea cu orașul, dar și a locuitorilor lui în raport cu el, cum se influențează reciproc, dar și imaginea Bucureștiului în literatură, deci reflectând constant la diferitele dinamici existente: eu în străinătate, eu în București, am devenit din ce în ce mai curioasă legat de specificitatea identității mele și cum o pot defini explorând orașul din care provin. Bucureștiul este prea puțin cunoscut la nivel internațional și, chiar și local și îmi doresc să schimb asta, cel puțin în domeniile în care activez.

‘I am from Bucharest’ by Alina Cristea

How would you describe your project about Bucharest?/ Cum ai descrie proiectul tău despre București?

The idea of this project came to me during that visit in 2015 which completely changed my previous beliefs, namely that I don’t do personal projects or that I don’t want to depict Romania. In a way, it was out of fear of just replicating this already exoticizing image of the poor East. That period was also the beginning of my Master’s degree in Photography at LUCA School of Arts in Brussels. I then started accumulating photographs based on my memories of certain places in the city and texts based on my experiences back in Bucharest — starting from daily topics, such as the public transport control (the back then RATB) to remarks on how my accent in Romanian has changed and I now get asked — even here! — where I am actually from. Best case scenario, the question is preceded by: ‘Oh, but your Romanian is so good!’

A proeminent (literary) encounter was that with “Literary Bucharest” by Andreea Răsuceanu. In this book I found the theoretical background and fascination for Bucharest, which I had just regained, but expressed in the literary space. Andreea Răsuceanu talks about the image of the city as it is depicted in the works of six contemporary Romanian writers, whom she also interviews. Each of them invokes their own experience of the city, which is what I was already doing as a photographer roaming the streets of Bucharest and remembering my own childhood and teenage years there. In this book, I discovered a subfield of literature, namely geocriticism, which refers to a poetics that studies the interactions between the human space and literature. In 2017, at the end of my Master’s studies, I realized I only came across the tip of an iceberg, and that my project couldn’t stop just because of graduating. Therefore, I prepared a doctoral proposal, which fortunately, got accepted and which allows me to combine my practice as an artist with academic research. And — ultimately — to explore even further the concepts I touched upon in my Master’s thesis.

In the theoretical part, I focus on concepts from geocriticism because “the poetic image of the city is the one that leaves a deeper imprint on human consciousness, even more so than its real history”(Dorothea Lauterbach apud Răsuceanu, Bucureștiul literar, 11). But also considering J.P. Richard’s idea that the landscape is actually the author describing it. J.-M. Besse finds that landscape can only be an inner one as it is the result of perception and interpretation (according to Răsuceanu, 28). Thus, one of my main goals is to use my own image and poetics of Bucharest to reflect on the city, its inhabitants, and finally, on the universal.

In the practice-based part of the project, I am using photographs, text, and more recently, sound, to create a film formed of fragments/chapters called “Bucharest. The City-Me”.

[ro]

Ideea proiectului mi-a venit la acea vizită din 2015, care mi-a schimbat complet convingerea anterioară, și anume că eu nu fac proiecte în care să tratez problematici personale sau în care să portretizez România, cu prudența și teama de a nu repeta o imagine exotizantă a Estului sărac. Perioada respectivă a fost începutul masteratului meu în fotografie la LUCA School of Arts, în Bruxelles. Am început să acumulez fotografii, bazate pe amintirile mele în anumite locuri din oraș și texte bazate pe experiențele mele înapoi în București: de la lucruri cotidiene, cum ar fi controlul în RATB, până la cum mi s-a schimbat, se pare, accentul în romana și sunt întrebată — până și aici — de unde sunt de fapt? În cel mai fericit caz, întrebarea e precedata de: vai, dar ce bine vorbești română!

O întâlnire (literară) remarcabilă a fost cea cu “Bucureștiul literar” de Andreea Răsuceanu. Aici, am găsit suportul teoretic și fascinația pentru București pe care tocmai o redobândisem, dar exprimată în spațiul literar. Andreea Răsuceanu vorbește despre imaginea orașului așa cum apare ea în operele a șase scriitori contemporani români, pe care îi și interveviază. Fiecare dintre ei invocă modul în care trăiește relația cu orașul, care era exact ce făceam eu ca fotograf, plimbându-mă prin București, dar și amintindu-mi-l din copilăria și adolescența mea. Prin această carte, am descoperit un subdomeniu al literaturii, geografia literară, care se referă la o poetică ce studiază interacțiunile dintre spațiul uman și literatură. La sfârșitul masteratului, în 2017, am realizat că doar am atins vârful unui iceberg și că lucrurile nu se pot împotmoli cu absolvirea unor studii. Am pregătit, deci, o aplicație pentru doctorat, care, din fericire, a fost acceptată și care îmi permite să combin practica de artist cu studiul academic. Și, firește, să intru în amănunte și să explorez conceptele descoperite în timpul masteratului.

În partea teoretică, mă axez pe concepte din geografia literară, tocmai pentru că “imaginea poetică a orașului este cea care rămâne imprimată mai adânc în conștiința umană decât istoria sa concretă.”(Dorothea Lauterbach apud Răsuceanu, Bucureștiul literar, 11). Dar și ideea lui J.P. Richard că peisajul este de fapt autorul care îl descrie. J.-M. Besse considera că peisajul poate fi doar unul interior, pentru că el este rezultatul percepției și al interpretării (cf. Răsuceanu, 28). Prin urmare, unul dintre scopurile mele principale este să folosesc propria imagine și poetica despre București pentru a reflecta asupra orașului, locuitorilor săi, iar, într-un final, asupra universalului.

În partea practică a proiectului, mă folosesc de fotografii, text și, mai recent, de sunet, pentru a crea un film format din fragmente, intitulat ‘Bucharest. The City-Me’.

What surprises you when you go back to Romania? What about when you return to Belgium?/ Ce te surprinde când te întorci în România? Ce te surprinde când revii în Belgia?

In Romania I find myself very judgy concerning how other people look like, especially women.

I become by default cautious when strangers approach me, as I always expect them to ask for something, mostly money. I become more aware of how I look like, especially when I notice gazes scanning me from head to toe. Sometimes I even wonder if my female friends from there don’t actually judge me for not wearing make-up and not having perfectly plucked eyebrows. I try to remind myself that it’s a choice and I try to relax about it.

I startle when I hear swear words in Romanian because in Belgium I barely do. And if I do hear something in Dutch or in French, they usually don’t have the same impact as they would in Romanian, so I usually ignore them.
I like to surprise people through politeness and patience in situations where most Romanians would flip out.

I am often annoyed by the fact that Romanians seem to think it’s okay to cancel plans last minute according to a whim.

In Belgium I like to have a ‘secret language’ (Romanian) and I do realize I am way meaner when I know people around can’t understand what I am saying (this is usually when I’m in company and I express what I’m thinking for comical reasons).
Here, I like to surprise people through frankness.

I don’t like it that Belgians are not spontaneous but I also appreciate that they very rarely cancel plans.

I like it when people know I’m from Eastern Europe, that I’m Romanian and that Bucharest is cool and needs to be discovered. I also think I’ve contributed towards tourism in Romania by increasing interest in the city/country among the people that know me.

[ro]

În România, mă auto-surprind frecvent judecând oamenii, mai ales femeile, după felul cum arată.

Devin automat suspicioasă și precaută, când un străin se apropie de mine și mă aștept să-mi ceară ceva, de obicei, bani. Devin conștientă de cum arăt, mai ales când simt priviri care ma studiază din cap pana în picioare. Câteodată, mă întreb dacă prietenele mele românce nu mă judecă pentru că nu sunt pensată sau că nu port machiaj, dar îmi reamintesc că e o alegere și încerc să mă destind.

Tresar, când aud înjurături în română, pentru că aici nu aud mai deloc. Și, dacă le aud în flamandă sau în franceză, nu au același impact ca în română, deci, de obicei, le ignor.

Îmi place să surprind oamenii prin politețe și răbdare, în situații de sărit muștarul.

Mă enervează când românii cred că e ok să anuleze planuri în ultima clipă, în funcție de chef.

În Belgia, îmi place că am o ‘limbă secretă’ — româna, și îmi dau seama că sunt mult mai răutăcioasă, când știu că lumea din jur nu înțelege ce zic. Aici îmi place să surprind oamenii prin franchețe.

Ma enervează că belgienii nu sunt spontani, dar și apreciez că foarte rar anulează ceva stabilit.

Îmi place să se știe că sunt din Est, că sunt româncă și că Bucureștiul e cool și trebuie descoperit.

Alina Cristea is a Romanian artist working with photography and film, currently living and working in Brussels and Bucharest. By using narrations to re-signify situations and events filtered through her own individual and particular viewpoints, she aims to tell a story about Bucharest as she sees it.

For more stories see Home in Dialogue and follow us on Twitter and Instagram.

--

--