How To Know When It’s The Right Time To Let Go

As a parent, only you can answer that question for yourself

Benny Lim
Family Matters

--

“Daddy, I can do it myself now.”

Those were the words that I both dreaded to hear but at the same time, was proud to have heard coming out from my 5-year old son. It’s a sentence that I have heard more often on a daily basis over the last couple of months now and it’s given me mixed feelings.

My son is the only child at the moment. There are plans to give him siblings in the near future but for the time being, he’s still the ‘baby’ of the house.

That being said, at 5 years old, he’s no longer a baby and technically, isn’t even a toddler anymore. If anything, he’s now a child and a big boy in his own right, and it definitely shows in the way he wants to do everything by himself. As a parent who has done so much until now, it’s hard to believe just how much he has grown.

It also begs the question, “When do I let go?”

Letting go here is in the sense where we allow them to be more independent and rather than holding their hands and doing it for them, we stand aside and support them from the side or behind.

So, when do we know when is the right time to let go?

--

--

Benny Lim
Family Matters

Medium writer since 2019, writing my way to a better life, and helping you lead a better life, one article at a time. https://iambennylim.medium.com/membership