I Gave In to The Elf On The Shelf

What the heck have I gotten myself into?

Shannon Ashley
Family Matters

--

Image by Pam Patterson from Pixabay

“Mom, do you remember when you told me that Santa isn’t real?”

Oh boy, here we go. I’m that parent who swore she wasn’t going to lie to her kid about Santa. So, I didn’t. But, my daughter still caught onto the whole Santa thing and decided she wanted to believe.

And now, I’ve got to clean up that mess.

“Well, I told you that some families celebrate Christmas by believing in Santa. Some families celebrate Christmas without believing in Santa. There are folks who think of him as another storybook character. And other families don’t celebrate Christmas at all. Remember, I told you that if Santa is really important to you, you can choose to believe if you like.”

“Yup,” my daughter happily replies. “And I believe in Santa.”

We haven’t even reached Thanksgiving in the US yet, but my 5 year old is already all about Christmas. A few weeks ago at Target, she saw an “Elf on the Shelf” and had a whole lot of questions.

Thanks, Target.

I never thought that we’d be one of those families that does the whole elf thing, but here we are. My kid asked if we could do Elf On The Shelf, and I couldn’t bring myself to say no.

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Family Matters

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com