Photograph author’s own (copyright of Alex Andra)

I’m Leaving Him Mum

The most difficult conversation I ever had with my mother

Alex Andra
Published in
6 min readAug 23, 2020

--

We hadn’t even reached our one year wedding anniversary but I had already decided enough was enough, and that I wanted us to separate. My husband refused point-blank to agree to a separation, and in his bid to keep me in the abusive sham of a marriage, he booked me a flight home so that I could tell my mother my plans to leave him. He knew how against divorce my deeply religious mother was, and he was counting on her talking me out of leaving him.

I called my mother, said he had booked me a flight and that I was coming home for a day as I needed to speak with her. She had no idea what was coming.

I arrived the next day, she had a look of worry on her face, wondering what information I was going to present her with. I told her I wanted to talk to her on the lighthouse walk. It’s one of my favourite places and looking back, I don’t know why I chose there as it’ll forever be tainted by it.

I was so unbelievably nervous, my stomach was in knots, I felt sick, my hands were shaking. I’d been going over and over in my head how on earth I would tell my mother I was leaving him. I knew she would be destroyed by shame at the thought of one of her daughters getting divorced.

--

--

Alex Andra

I write about: Birth, Birth Trauma & Breastfeeding | Domestic Violence | Health & Fitness | Life | Mental Health | Motherhood | Love, Relationships & Sex