Lessons from the PICU: How my Worst Moments Resulted in the Best Gratitude

The tough times taught me how the ultimate beauty lies in the mundane.

Amanda Clark-Rudolph
Family Matters

--

A woman sits within the rays of a sunset.
Photo by Jude Beck on Unsplash

“Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things.” Robert Brault

I have always prided myself on my ability to practice gratitude.

Ever since I was a child, I’ve thanked the Lord for my blessings on the majority of my days.

Still, even as someone who continuously reminds themselves of their blessings, I admit, I take so much for granted.

Due to the state of our world, I’ve been reflecting on which moments in my life have impacted my gratitude the most.

Ironically, I found the key moments in my life that truly reflected my gratefulness are also my worst.

Here’s why.

Like most parents, my kids are my world.

I write this post as my almost 3-year-old dances to a Blippi song. His long golden hair flops all about, and he grins at me with this smile representative of the ultimate happiness.

I’m grateful for all of this, and it’s hard to believe we almost lost him when he was a mere 5 weeks old due to bronchiolitis complications.

--

--

Amanda Clark-Rudolph
Family Matters

Amanda is a work at home mama who contributes to various magazines and blogs. Contact her at writeonfreelancingllc@gmail.com for interview or blog articles.